We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Reston

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Reston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Presidents Street, Reston, VA 20190   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Reston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Plenty of room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

I was blessed to win weekend accomodations and entry to a conference being held at the Hyatt in Reston, VA. My reservation was pre paid, and all I had to do was provide a credit card for any additional charges and I was off. I was promptly given printed directions when I asked about a local eatery and was even asked if I enjoyed my meal later in the evening as I crossed the lobby. The environment was very friendly, and the establishment was beautiful and grand. The room was huge, and my husband liked the fact that the television tilted so you could see it from any angle. I enjoyed my stay, and would definately stay again.

  • Liked — The room was very large, and evrything was very clean.
  • Disliked — The 1st floor entrance from the garage elevator was confusing.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    173
    46
    18
    11
See reviews for
60
55
31
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

Just returned from a 3 night stay because of a friend's wedding reception being held at this hotel. I can't say enough nice things about the hotel. The ambience, the rooms, the staff, the restaurants, the location - all wonderful. It is in a very safe neighborhood, clothing stores, movie theatres within a block.
Great place for a woman traveling alone.

I drove to the Metro Station in Falls Church, VA to explore DC, but there is a bus (505 connector) that goes from the hotel area to the Metro for DC touring.

We got a discount because of the wedding ($119.00/night) which was a deal and well worth the money. The Hyatt is one of my favorite hotel chains. They do a marvelous job.

By the way, parking is free in a garage. You won't be disappointed in this great hotel.

  • Liked — The lovely, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, VA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

I enjoyed a recent stay at this hotel. The desk clerk at check in was friendly and accommodating. Usually, when you book a hotel through a blind bid, you get what you get, but this desk clerk ran through a laundry list of options and gave me all of my preferences. The room was plush and comfortable with everything working as it should. The wireless access cost extra at this hotel, but there were a couple of free networks from nearby businesses in the air that were adequate for an email check, plus a Paneras in the lobby. The tap worked fine, which made it easy to ignore the overpriced water bottles that were set up in the room. The health club was well maintained with top of the line equipment. The indoor pool was clean, but it featured some short hours and was therefore a little less useful than it could have been. Sunday brunch looked appetizing, but the overflow crowd was set up in the lobby between the elevators and the desk, which made leaving an adventure of near misses. Overall, I had an outstanding stay and I’d return.

  • Liked — Plush and Luxurious
  • Disliked — wireless access cost extra
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bar harbor, maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

The hotel looks great, the location is excellent, and while the staff is nice, they do not provide good service. Just one example of this - I signed up for a daily newspaper delivered to my room, but it never was delivered and I had to ask at the front desk each day to get a paper. This continued for my entire stay even though each day they supposedly signed me up again!

The pool is only open during the week from 5pm-9pm which doesn't work when you have children who expect to be able to swim! This type of limited availability should be specified on their web site, so you don't have other expectations. Also, they have very few television channels, especially any for children, so don't plan on entertaining your kids at the hotel if the weather is less than ideal to explore outside. One more limitation, no one under age 18 is allowed in the fitness center.

As for internet service, be prepared to pay between $10-$13 per day if you want access in the hotel. I would expect at these rates, $260 per night - with a discount yet - that internet service would be included. The rates are high, and then they nickel and dime you for every little thing - local calls are $1.05 per call!

Also, while the room looked good and seemed clean the carpet was obviously in need of a good cleaning. My son's new white socks were black after walking around on the carpeting. Given the colors and pattern on the carpet you cannot see the dirt, but several pairs of ruined socks prove that is does exist!

If you are a business traveller with a big expense account, fine, but otherwise skip it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service and price
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

We were visitng DC for a few days but didn't want to stay in the city so we choose the Hyatt at Reston, which we got a great deal on. Check-in was fast and staff was very friendly; our room was very clean and comfortable. What made it great was the town center adjacent to the property. We were there for 3 days and never had to use the car the whole time (didn't want the hassle of driving into the city and find parking); the bus stop was right across the street which we took to the metro to get into DC. When we would return to the hotel, we would dine at the restaurants in the town center and walk around the shoppes (there's also a movie theatre). The area was very nice and overall it was a great stay. The only setback is having to pay to use the pool/gym/internet (which we didnt have the time to use on this trip anyhow) but I still highly recommend.

  • Liked — Proximity to entertainment/dining
  • Disliked — Extra fees for use of internet/pool/gym
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

I attended a convention and stayed four nights. The free shuttle from Dulles was fine, but you should call on arrival because it operates only once per hour. Reception was quick and friendly. The rooms and property were modern and well maintained as expected. The internet isn't very good. No ethernet connection. Wireless was very weak, but the front desk gave me an antenna that barely got the hotel network which costs $12-$15 per day. There were other networks, also weak, that you could access for free. The rooms were large, but had no mini-bar or refrigerator. The bedding and linnens were of good quality, but I found the pillows hard for my taste, and the duvets were a little too heavy. The air conditining in the rooms was good, but in public spaces it was warm, due to a malfunction of equipment at the time of my visit.
The location was wonderful, directly on Town Square where you can walk to many fine restaurants, and there is a Panera Bread Co. in the lobby if you don't want the hotel's breakfast. There is a movie theater one block west, and some nights they have a concert on the square behind the hotel.
All in all, it was just about what I expected for a four star property.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — hard pillows (my kids take their own!)
Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOntevideo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

Very nice hotel, clean and neat. Excellent service. The fitness area, swimming pool and sauna are nice. Excellent restaurant and pub from the lobby. I had problems accesing wireless Internet, which is not free. The business center is rather expensive too. The city of Reston however is a hard to define. Everything is so new and clean, no old people, no children, no trees. Very nice restaurants and stores. Looks very much like a movie set. It reminded me of the Truman Show.

  • Liked — Nice place, very good service
  • Disliked — internet access and business center
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Reston

Address: 1800 Presidents Street, Reston, VA 20190
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Reston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four diamond property located in the heart of Reston Town Center. 2004 $8.2 Million dollar guestroom renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Reston Hotel Reston
Reston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Reston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.