We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Reston

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Reston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Reston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Presidents Street, Reston, VA 20190   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Reston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Really terrible experience. We had to stay for a whole two months (May-June 2013) at the hotel due to my mother's health condition but with being in the hotel all this time, we did not see any special treatment or appreciation from the hotel staff. They did not have respect to handicapped people, or foreigners. We used their wheelchair when moving my mother around the hotel but eventually the guy AJ was gonna drop my Mom off the chair saying we have been using it for long. Also the manager told the staff not to help my mother when she needed it because he did not want to take blame on any accidents that can happen to them or her during their help. Another bad feature is not having automatic doors that can open with a touch button so going out with a wheelchair will not be a tough task, but had to wait for people to come and help us in-and-out of the hotel. Also the door in the accessible room was VERY heavy and not easy to open. They have made MANY mistakes in money transactions and withdrawing money from our credit cards with out approval blaming it on MANY reasons which are not excusable such as taking 10$ every day for the car garage when we never used it or withdrawing money w/o approval blaming it on their system and wrong room numbers. Also their house-keeping staff were not clean at all and not professional keeping the showers and tubs dirty for days until we would call back and have them come again. Also couple of things were missing (phone charger, hair accessories and eye glasses) which might have been stollen by house keeping. As for the food service, they used to take orders made by kids -my 5yrs old niece- early in the morning when adults were still sleeping, who would do that? One day after a long tiring schedule, we called for dinner and waited for an hour and then called again and they said it was delivered to another room by mistake and now the kitchen is closed and we can not do anything about it. Another horrible experience was having an intruder open the door of the room and enter without asking for permission while i was alone in the room who turned out to be a hotel staff. Even the TV in all the rooms did not have the basic channels (FOX, ABC). The pool and gym room were not clean, especially the pool. With all these problems, every time we talk to the hotel managers, the only response we got was "sorry about that" not even offering a day off from all of our stay or even any discounts or special offers. I REALLY think the hotel's only good feature is its location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear AMG_2013_13,

I was sorry top hear your comments. They are not consistent with the superior level of service that we delive to hundreds of guests every day. Many of our guests spend more time in our hotel annually than at home. And consider us home away from home.

Nevertheless, your candor is appreciated. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our leadership team for review.

Thank you for your business. Once again, I am sorry you feel this way
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    169
    45
    17
    11
See reviews for
58
54
31
185
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. I have stayed there more than once, and it has lovely rooms and a perfect location. The problem: at around 4am on July 7, 2013 they lost power. This was surely not their fault, but they didn't handle it very well. We woke up hot around 4:30am and called the desk to confirm it was the whole hotel and not just our room. Of course getting ready in the dark would be difficult, but we were willing to deal with it. Unfortunately we then discovered that we had no water. We called the front desk and they seemed confused and insisted it must be low pressure. We assured them that there was no water at all and they said they'd call a technician. An hour later, I called and said we just wanted to shower (maybe in another room?), but they said the technician was on his way. The technician arrived and confirmed that we had no water. He said the whole riser was out. We had to leave without no shower, not even water to brush our teeth, even though other parts of the hotel had water and it was not fully booked. The manager they left in charge refused to give us any sort of assurance of a discount until the power was back. When she called us back, she left a message that we would receive a 25% discount. Assuming that you need a hotel so that you will have a place to sleep and get ready in the morning, we should have received at least a 50% discount. We did indeed have a place to sleep, even though it became suffocating after 4am. I can't recommend this hotel. It's a great place to stay if everything goes well, but you can't count on them to handle problems when they inevitably arise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear judyk123,

It is regretful to hear that we did not provide the service you expected during the recent power outage. Yes, the event was beyond the hotel's control. The unexpected power failure was felt area-wide. This said, the resonse from our staff that you describe is inexcusable. Please accept my sincerest apology.

Thank you for your business. We hope that you choose us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were here for a conference, and were pleased to find such an excellent choice. Check in was easy, and our room key was parking-enabled, which left us free to enter and leave the parking garage as often as we wanted without a charge. The hotel is at the corner ofmReston Town Center, which has wonderful restaurants and stores and a square with a fountain. Therer are several places to eat, including a large Panera which is accessible from the hotel or the square. Our room was fairly large and very clean and comfortable. Although this hotel has 15 floors, there was never much of a wait for an elevator. The conference itself was well-organized and service throughout was friendly, prompt and professional.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expat in Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located within walking distance of many shops and restaurants in Reston Town Center. What sets it apart, however, is the customer service. Absolutely outstanding! The only thing I wish they would change is the $10 per night for parking. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear nancy_rhodes,

I was so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your positive endorsement.

The parking fee was implemented in 2012 and unfortunately due to the increasing parking demand for our property and Reston Town Center.

Please come back & visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the hub of this little town center. While it may be a bit pricy, it has lots to offer, such as great check-in/check-out access (computerized), friendly staff, in hotel shops with some additional access to shops. The gym was adequate to get a good work out. But it is the location that make this a winner.

Room Tip: Really any room will be sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Shai L ,

Thank you for your favorable review! Great to hear that our hotel and its convenient location served you well.

Yes, our hotel is rertainly the lowest price. It is always great to learn that our service, facility, and location more than make it woreth while.

Your business is much appreciated and we sincerely hope that you choose us once again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel has good sized rooms with comfortable beds and a desk with lots of outlets, making it good for business stays. The desk chairs could be upgraded. It is conveniently located to restaurants and coffee shops in the Reston Town Center, but also has a decent room service when you get in late and don't want to go out. The people in room service could not be nicer and will accommodate your requests -- for me fresh steamed vegetables. The front desk people are helpful with taxis.

Room Tip: I have found rooms on the corners to be fairly quiet, although the neighboring doors are very close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Sara P,

It was rewarding to learn of your positive experience at our property. Please accept my gratitude for the positive review.

Hope you choose us again in the future.

Cheers,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I went to the Hyatt in May for a friend's wedding.
The hotel and room were lovely. Very comfortable beds.
With great restaurants nearby. Wifi was quick and accessible.
The only disapointment was that the breakfast area is beside the hotel lobby. This made it quite noisy and not very intimate. But the food was good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mystik186338,

Thanks you for the cheerful review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate your business. Hope you come & visit us in the future.

Safe travels,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Reston

Address: 1800 Presidents Street, Reston, VA 20190
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Reston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four diamond property located in the heart of Reston Town Center. 2004 $8.2 Million dollar guestroom renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Reston Hotel Reston
Reston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Reston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.