We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Reston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Reston to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Reston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 Presidents Street, Reston, VA 20190   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Reston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stay at the Hyatt frequently for weekend get away's. it is comfortable and convenient to all the shops and restaurants in Reston Town Center. The staff is helpful and pleasant. As is occasionally the case in a cosmopolitan area, communications can be a challenge but that is part of the character of DC.

My only nit pic is wifi speed. The basic level Internet, which is free if one is high enough in the frequent guest program, is throttled so much that even medium size files are a problem (attached or web page embedded pictures). I understand why they might want to charge for higher speed for folks who want to stream Netflix but the slow level is just too slow.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear clherrick,

Thanks for your favorable review! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our location.

Your feedback on our wifi service is well received and will be reviewed with our senior leadership.

Your business is appreciated. Please come back & see us again.

Safe travels,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    176
    46
    19
    11
See reviews for
61
56
31
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We spend a weekend here while in the DC-area. Overall it was a good stay, staff was courteous, the room was clean and had all the expected amenities, and the beds were comfortable. Our 16th floor room had a nice view of reston.

Parking is $8 per day in a garage attached to the hotel. There was valet service, but we parked on our own and it felt safe.

The pool was very clean and fund for kids. The spa was also nice. On the weekend we visited, the pool and gym area were not crowded (one or two more people). Due to local rules they have to have a life guard on duty. I thought that was good, plus the fact that they person on duty helped us with a couple of beach balls etc. to keep the kids busy.

The location of the hotel is awesome I think. Its next to a rails-to-trail running trail that is fun to explore. There is a panera bread in the hotel (I never like paying for wifi in a hotel, so i just went there for breakfast and some free wifi). Right behind the hotel is a skating area (closed when we visited in april though), and a bevy of restaurants and shops. One can easily burn some time here. DC attractions are 30-40 minutes away in terms of driving, but this wasn't a big deal for us on this trip.

The only nuisance was that the weekend we visited, there was a huge (huge) group meeting happening at the hotel. It would take 10 minutes for the elevator to arrive, and the drive-in in front of the hotel was choked with cars and people honking. I figure that kind of thing only happens once in a while, so I am open to staying here again. Also. the staff did their best to make our visit enjoyable.

Room Tip: - Don't pay for wifi, use your 4g, or enjoy free wifi in panera downstairs - Run/bike the Wash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear EatTravelLive,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. This is indeed a great location for a weekend getaway.

Your business is appreciated. Please come back and visit us again.

Regards,

Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had a great stay at this Hyatt hotel in Reston. When I checked in and went to my room, I found it to be near the elevator and noisy. I went down to the front desk and asked if there was anything they could do and they promptly moved me to another room further from the elevator. The room itself was well appointed and clean and I had a great night sleep. The location of the hotel is great as it is in the heart of the Reston Town Center, plenty of great restaurants in walking distance. However, there is a Panera Bread in the hotel if you want to stay close, which is a nice feature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Patrick241_10,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our property. Glad to hear that our staff was responsive to your request to change rooms.

We appreciate your business. And hope that you choose us again in the future.

Safe travels,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Reston Town Center is a pretty nice place that I have visited for dinner many times. I had a meeting in Reston and had to stay near the airport and figured this would be a typical, good Hyatt experience in an area that I enjoyed.
But it was not. It took four trips from my room on the 12th floor to get an electronic key that worked. When finally an employee accompanied me, he told me that they had a lot of trouble with keys and did not understand why they did not get a new system. I received no apology from the front desk on any of these trips. Then having to pay for WIFI in an already pricey hotel was disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear RichardLBrown,

Please accept my regret over your poor experience with our guest room lock system. We are indeed evaluating this "as we speak" and anticipate implementing a solution soon.

This said, thta no one at the frornt desk apologize is unnacceptable. Your candor is appreciated and your comments will be forwarded to and discussed with our front office leadrship team.

We appreciate your busines and sincerely hope that you give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a great weekend staying at the Hyatt in Reston. The room was lovely, very clean and quiet, and we had a great view of the city. Loved that everything was withing walking distance right outside the door, shopping, restaurants, and bars. Kudos to Denis, our Bellman, for all of the helpful restaurant recommendations. he steered us in the right direction all weekend. We will return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear dineradventurer21,

Thank you for your favorable review! So glad to hear that your experience met your expectations as your hotel of choice. Yes, Reston Town Center provides a fantastic location.

Your business and sharing are much appreciated. Please come & see us again soon.

Regards,
Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Got a great last minute deal on a third party site here and for what I paid, I'd definitely come back here. Rooms were of Hyatt quality and were quiet. The check-in kiosk's did not work, but front desk staff was helpful and did the right thing and upgraded us when check-in took longer than expected due to an issue with the third party website reservation. No need to pay for garage parking though - you can park anywhere else in the Reston Town Center for free overnight with no problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear roamroam,

Thanks for your favorable review! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience. And I do regret that our front desk kiosks were not working. I will follow up on this immediately.

Your business is much appreciated. Hope you choose us again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We attended a weekend conference at the Reston Hyatt and I was a little apprehensive given some negative reviews I had read relative to the service. I have to say that the service we received was friendly and efficient. We took advantage of the gym, which was relatively spacious and not crowded, at least when we went: lunchtime on Saturday. The location was fantastic with ready access to wonderful restaurants and shopping. Overall it was a lovely weekend and for a very large hotel, it was clean and well- managed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray M, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Reston, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear JPDelaware,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and for your favorable endorsement. So happy to hear that your expectations were exceeded!! This should be what you expect given our beutiful facilities, location, and helpful staff.

Your business is much appreciated. Glad to your faith in us was rewarded.

Please come & see us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Reston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Reston

Address: 1800 Presidents Street, Reston, VA 20190
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Reston 4*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four diamond property located in the heart of Reston Town Center. 2004 $8.2 Million dollar guestroom renovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Reston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Reston Hotel Reston
Reston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Reston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Reston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.