We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Reston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Reston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Reston Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11810 Sunrise Valley Drive, Reston, VA 20191   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Reston
Ascot, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is tatty, dirty and smelly. The staff do their best to compensate, in the same way the orchestra did on the sinking Titanic. Sheraton told me they have posted my review on their website. However, it is on the last page of 91 reviews together with all the other negative reports............well out of date sequence and behind all positive comments !!! THIS IS SHARP PRACTICE and unworthy of Sheraton.

Room Tip: Stay at the Westin next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear 535barney,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate your needs and assist you throughout your stay. We take all feedback very seriously to help ensure we are delivering a memorable experience. Our renovation this summer will most certainly help brighten up our guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    104
    54
    28
    14
See reviews for
49
35
26
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

i stayed at the hotel bec of a cancelled flight.it is a avarage hotel ,good breakfast,it has nice neighborhood different than other airport hotels,the room is ok,take closer room to the first elevator if you do not want to walk too much.

Room Tip: second elevator rooms are guiet but you walk more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel at least 30 times over the past 15 years. The location is very convenient to the Dulles area - if you have a rental car. The Reston neighborhood is full of restaurants and shopping. This property is outdated but the location and rates are priced accordingly. The parking is plentiful and provides easy access to the Dulles expressway. I was very surprised to find that the service provided by the front desk has improved so much. I was greeted with great friendliness, efficiency and focus. I felt that I had the uninterrupted attention of the young man who was checking me in. I stopped at the desk several times during my stay for various reasons; to borrow an umbrella, pick-up fedex boxes, etc. Each time I noted that not only were the staff kind to me but also to the other guests. I don't know what kind of training they have provided but it is certainly working.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Our family suggested this hotel for our Easter brunch. It turned out to be a very enjoyable one even though the dinning room was filled. The various tables were set with any number of choices to begin our journey through food. Breakfast was a great omelet with great additions of fresh ham and vegetables. The waffles were nicely done and were served with a variety of fresh fruits. The other tables of smoked salmon, and various breads along with other meats and potatoes. The little neck white potatoes were baked to a nice finish. Salads were plentiful along with the desert room which was not a disappointment to anybody in our group. The servers were helpful and quick to address any questions we had. A return trip is in order.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hello Norb K - thank you very much for your review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our Easter Brunch. This year was our fifth year and the most successful one thus far! Looking forward to next year. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We ended up staying at this hotel for one night when our flight home was overbooked. This hotel is very small for a Sheraton (six floors), but the room was very nice and quite spacious. There was a loud event going on adjacent to the lobby when we checked in, but once we entered the elevator to go to our room, we did not hear any noise from it at all. The bed was *extremely* comfortable and we got a great night's sleep. There was complimentary bottled water in the room, which was quite welcome, and the bathroom was also spacious and well-stocked with toiletry amenities. The staff was extremely polite and helpful and offered a wakeup call in the morning. The only problems we saw: 1) At 6:45am when we were in the lobby awaiting the airport shuttle, there were no breakfast items available, not even a cup of coffee - we had to wait until we got to the airport to eat, which was a very rushed situation; and 2) The shuttle was a few minutes behind schedule, which made us anxious, since the check-in process at Dulles was a largely time-consuming affair. Overall, however, the hotel was fine and served our purpose well.

Room Tip: Hotel offers a free shuttle to Dulles airport which runs every half hour and hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Flashandww,

Thank you so Much for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you were able to get a good night’s sleep after such a chaotic night of traveling. I am also pleased to learn that our staff was able to take care of your needs. I am sorry to learn that you missed our breakfast; we have Syrah Restaurant on the second floor Just above the lobby which serves a full breakfast buffet. Next time you are in the area please stop by one of our wonderful restaurants for a great dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent location. Very close to Town Center which has many great restaurants & bars. The staff is excellent-very friendly & accommodating. The room was very clean & the bed was pretty comfortable. Overall, great value & experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie C, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello Sonya,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay. Our hotel is located in a perfect location near Reston Town Center, Washington Dulles International Airport, Reston National Golf Course, and many corporations. We hope you will return for another visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked last-minute on Hotels.com because the price was just about half! I even called the hotel directly to try and get a lower price and still quoted the higher price so just booked it online. When I showed up, they already had my room ready to go. Jessie at the front desk was wonderful. He upgraded me to the club level floor at no charge and waived my wifi as a courtesy. The room was clean and modern. The club level lounge had snacks and sodas all day long and a small breakfast in the morning. I instead ordered room service for breakfast and it was quite good. The server was professional and extremely pleasant. The order took less than 20 minutes to arrive which is always nice. The bathroom was clean and modern and I appreciated the full array of amenities without having to call down for something as ordinary as conditioner. They even provided a loofah and shaving cream...nice touch especially for a regular Sheraton! The bed was very comfortable. Only complaint...the walls were very thin and you could hear conversations and televisions going on. My room was also right next to the elevator so lots of noise with that early in the morning. Good thing I packed my earplugs. Exceptional staff though...it really makes a difference. I would stay here again especially at the discounted rate.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room away from the elevator if you can. The 6th floor is club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Reston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Reston Hotel

Address: 11810 Sunrise Valley Drive, Reston, VA 20191
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Reston Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In suburban Virginia, close to many large technology firms, the Sheraton is adjacent to a golf course and 1 mile from the shops and restaurants at Reston Town Center. Complimentary 24-hour airport transportation is provided every 30 minutes to and from Washington Dulles. Also, complimentary daily shuttle service is available within a 2-mile radius, 7 AM-10 PM (subject to availability). Lounge chairs and umbrella tables surround the seasonal outdoor pool, located in a landscaped courtyard. A self-serve business center and complimentary fitness center are accessible 24 hours. The hotel has 18 meeting/conference rooms. A computer station and Internet point are available; wireless Internet access is complimentary in the lobby area. Syrah restaurant offers American fare, the Cosmopolitan Lounge provides a bar menu and pool table, and a 24-hour sundry shop stocks Starbucks coffee and snacks. Dogs, 40 pounds or less, are allowed without surcharges. Complimentary for use during stay is the Sheraton red, white, and blue dog bed. Owners are provided with food, water bowls and temporary ID tags with hotel contact information. A pet waiver must be signed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Reston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Reston
Reston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Reston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.