We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheraton Reston, VA - enjoyed our stay but not "blown away".” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Reston Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Reston Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Reston Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11810 Sunrise Valley Drive, Reston, VA 20191   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Reston
Rock Hill, SC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sheraton Reston, VA - enjoyed our stay but not "blown away".”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent two nights in August. Check in staff very friendly. Room assigned initially did not have a working air conditioner. Switched rooms and was quite satisfied.

Breakfast (free) coupons were a nice touch. Breakfast buffet was fresh and had quite a bit of variety. High praise for the fresh squeezed OJ! Dining room was large and plenty of room between tables.

Paid wi-fi was a pain. Why do hotels still do this...and it wasn't that fast.

The signage stated some upgrades were happening to the hotel. Looking down onto the roof of the "wing" revealed plenty of peeling paint.

Without a doubt, the best hotel pool I've seen at the many I've stayed at in recent years. Large, clean, deep (8.5 ft) and outdoors. Only downside was the constant noise of the air conditioners.

Pet friendly with NO pet fees! Sweet! Would stay at again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica A, Director of Guest Services at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear dlrollo,

Thank you for your response. I am very sorry to hear you experienced trouble with your air condition upon checking in to your room. Thank you for being patient while we located you a new room. As you saw, we are currently in the process of our first phase of renovations, replacing all guest room AC units. Once this project is finished, I am confident you will find the atmosphere at the outdoor pool more enjoyable with the noise level of the units being down significantly. We do offer several packages which include High Speed Internet or breakfast which you should check out on our website for your next visit to the Reston area. Don’t forget to let us know you will be bringing your pet; we would love to set up in your room a pet bed and welcome amenity from Sheraton’s Love that Dog line to make Fido feel at home too. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Wishes,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    106
    54
    28
    14
See reviews for
51
35
26
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I'd found this hotel actually not THROUGH the hotel itself, but via the website www.parksleepfly.com — because I had an early morning flight and needed to leave my car somewhere in hopes of not paying the airport's high daily parking fee. So when I showed up at the Sheraton, I figured I would be treated just like any other guest. Surely not treated BETTER than any other guest, considering I'd paid less than most of them. Imagine my surprise, upon checking in, to receive an envelope with my name on it and a coupon for a free appetizer or drink, as well as complimentary Internet access in my room (rather than simply in the lobby). Turns out I was the "designated VIP Guest of the day." What a pleasure. The king-size bed was wonderful, the room was already cooled down on a hot summer evening, and it was a completely hitch-free trip for me — airport shuttle from the hotel and then back to it upon my return. Picking up my car and driving home. So I guess this is as much a review of parksleepfly.com as it is of the Sheraton. But it wouldn't have been seamless if not FOR the Sheraton and their participation in the parksleepfly experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica A, Director of Guest Services at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear buymeaticket,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about your experience. We are always looking for ways to exceed the expectations of our guests by going above and beyond and I am delighted to hear we were able to do just that. I do hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon and take advantage of our many amenities, including our complimentary shuttle service. If you are looking to enhance your sleep at home, you can purchase any of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bedding on our website.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We sought refuge at the Sheraton Reston when our family camping trip went awry due to storms that caused state wide power outages! The hotel is clean, well appointed and the staff was friendly . There were many children on our hall but the rooms are well insulated and you don't get to much noise from other guests. My only complaint is that they advertise that there is wifi but neglect to tell you that there is a $12.95 fee/day for using the wifi. Otherwise a perfectly lovely hotel and great place to stay. Close to DC and Reston itself has many shops and things to do nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica A, Director of Guest Services at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Stephanie R,
Thank you for your warm review of our hotel and staff. Our staff strives to exceed our guest expectations by providing exceptional customer service; they will be delighted to hear your compliments. On the "Special Offers" tab of the hotel website, we offer several packages that include High Speed Internet Access and a variety of packages for any upcoming family trips or weekend getaways. Additionally, we know how important it is for our guests to be connected therefore we offer complimentary wireless internet in our lobby area along with complimentary computer and printing services in the Link@Sheraton Experienced with Microsoft. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Sheraton Reston soon.

Warm Regards,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed one night because of a travel issue. The staff was very nice and professional. The lobby was what you would expect of a Sheraton and the grounds looked good. The breakfast buffet was pretty pricey but good, the OJ was the best I can remember. The wait staff was very good. My room was clean and the bed was AWESOME. The wireless was not free but worked well. The downside was the shuttle service was waaaaaaaaay too slow. You might want to spend the money for a taxi ride unless you are willing to wait over an hour. The shuttle bus needs better marking as well. The shuttle to the airport was fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica A, Director of Guest Services at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear AFCol,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear you had to wait on our shuttle. Our complimentary shuttle service is by far our most popular amenity and we are always looking for ways to improve the service. We will be looking at ways to better highlight the hotel names and also ways to alleviate any delays. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant. For your next visit, make sure to check out the package deals on our website located under the “Special Offers” tab, you will find several packages which include breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Recent renovations are great for the hotel as everything on the property is a bit dated. for example, the decor in the rooms reminds one of colors used in the 80s (bright red flooring) and the lobby seems a bit "tired." Also, given the price, I would have expected slightly better amenities and quality of lodging than what was offered. Although I will stay in this hotel again, it would be second to others in the close vicinity that offer more value for the money. Definitely take advantage of the airport shuttle that serves this hotel and the nearby Westin

Room Tip: Try to get a club level room as it includes a free breakfast that is about as good as what you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica A, Director of Guest Services at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Chris B,

I sincerely apologize that our hotel amenities did not meet your expectations and that you experienced any disruption to your stay caused by our recent construction. I am happy to say we are in the first stage of our much anticipated renovation projects. Currently, we are upgrading all of our AC units in the guest rooms with more efficient units. Looking forward, the upcoming phases will include guest room changes, lobby revitalization, and finally meeting space updates. I do hope you will continue to visit the Sheraton Reston and Westin Reston Heights in the coming months so you can join us in watching the Sheraton Reston change and grow.

Thank you again for sharing with us, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a great example of the confortable standards of Sheratons. Good location, but not too many nearbt food choices if you want to eat away from the hotel. Lounge was small but nice. Rooms clean, cool and great beds. Will go back again!

Room Tip: Pool view is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica A, Director of Guest Services at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear SeatravelerWA,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We take great pride in our cleanliness standards and also the comfort of our guests. As a frequent guest of the Sheraton Brand, I am sure you are also well aware of the pride we take in our beds, the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed. Next time you visit the Sheraton Reston, you must make it a point to visit Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro. Vinifera is a local gem located in the lobby of our sister property, the Westin Reston Heights. If you are looking to venture out further from the complex, we do offer a complimentary local shuttle which runs from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. within a 2 mile radius. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Reston soon!

Warm Wishes,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Like so many others, we appreciated the location of the hotel where we spent the night before an early flight out of Dulles. Throughout our stay, there was a nice selection of luxury sedans at the hotels own taxi stand which was handy. Plenty of restaurants in the general area, and the rooms were just what you would expect: clean, no surprises, nice bed linens, but pretty doggone corporate. There were enough touches to keep it from dampening the launch of our big European/British holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica A, Director of Guest Services at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Zoobeefoo,

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while on your way to a European holiday. As you saw, we work closely with a well-respected limousine company, Skyhawk Limousine, local to the Reston area. We do offer several weekend getaway packages you should check out on our website for your next visit to the Reston area. You should also visit the restaurant, Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro, a local gem, located in the lobby of our sister property, the Westin Reston Heights.

I hope you enjoyed your trip to Europe and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Reston soon.

Warm Regards,
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Reston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Reston Hotel

Address: 11810 Sunrise Valley Drive, Reston, VA 20191
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Reston Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In suburban Virginia, close to many large technology firms, the Sheraton is adjacent to a golf course and 1 mile from the shops and restaurants at Reston Town Center. Complimentary 24-hour airport transportation is provided every 30 minutes to and from Washington Dulles. Also, complimentary daily shuttle service is available within a 2-mile radius, 7 AM-10 PM (subject to availability). Lounge chairs and umbrella tables surround the seasonal outdoor pool, located in a landscaped courtyard. A self-serve business center and complimentary fitness center are accessible 24 hours. The hotel has 18 meeting/conference rooms. A computer station and Internet point are available; wireless Internet access is complimentary in the lobby area. Syrah restaurant offers American fare, the Cosmopolitan Lounge provides a bar menu and pool table, and a 24-hour sundry shop stocks Starbucks coffee and snacks. Dogs, 40 pounds or less, are allowed without surcharges. Complimentary for use during stay is the Sheraton red, white, and blue dog bed. Owners are provided with food, water bowls and temporary ID tags with hotel contact information. A pet waiver must be signed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Reston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Reston
Reston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Reston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.