We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdate, run-down, dirty, smelly, noisy hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Reston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Reston Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Reston Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11810 Sunrise Valley Drive, Reston, VA 20191   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Reston
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outdate, run-down, dirty, smelly, noisy hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Do not stay there.
The common areas are dirty, my room has scratched carpet and wall paper. Rust in the bath tub. Sound Insulation of the windows: inexistent and many rooms are facing the highway= very noisy.
Smelly common areas and room. Totally unresponsive staff that keeps putting you on hold when you keep the front desk.

Room Tip: Go across the parking lot at the Westin or wait for a complete renovation of the Sheraton
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sami_Zeitoun, General Manager at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Carlito,

I sincerely apologize that our hotel did not meet your expectations on your recent trip to Reston.

The Sheraton Reston is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year. Our seasoned team is proud of the properties rich history and of being of service to this community. We are humbled by the numerous repeat guests and positive comments we receive day in and day out. However, we do recognize there is always room for improvement and service enhancements along the way and thank you for your comments.

I assure you that our number 1 goal is cleanliness and our team has a stringent cleaning and maintenance schedule in place for the comfort of our guests. In addition, to keep the property fresh, I did want to let you know that we are in the initial planning stages of a full property renovation later this year.

Again Carlito, we certainly don’t like to hear that you did not enjoy our services or facility and this will be discussed with my team. We do hope you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations on a future trip to Reston.

Sincerely,

Sami Zeitoun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    114
    60
    28
    14
See reviews for
54
38
27
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

Front desk was wonderful, kind, and friendly. Room was alot better than the first time we stayed there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel all around, except the hallway and my 3rd floor room, smelled like a bad Indian restaurant. It was really disappointing, because the staff was great, as was the location. unfortunately, without a renovation, I will never stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Had a head cold and went to the hotel sundries shop for DayQuil. They hade NyQuil but no DayQuil. The desk Manager (Jessica) said she would look in the back. She came back and said there was none in the back so she said they would go to their sister hotel and get some and that there was no need for me to take a taxi to the local drug store. She stated they would bring it to my room.
About 30 minutes later there was a knock on my door and a porter (Kurt) gave me a box of DayQuil. He wouldn't let me sign for it; nor would he take a tip. Just said to get better.
Well in all my travels, I have not had a hotel staff bend over backwards they did to accomodate a guest. Excellent, excellent service. I will go back to this hotel at any time due this excellent service

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I had stayed in a few Sheraton's whilst in the US, but this was quite disappointing compared to the others, rooms were dated and what I really hated that as I was clearly a foreigner when I asked them to get me a cab they called a hire firm that charged a blanket rate that was more expensive than normal taxis - not good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I got stranded one night in Dulles and ended up at this hotel at 2am

Clean,fresh,couldntaskfor better service. Great bed. They put me on the club floor where i enjoyed a midnight snack and a great continental breakfast

Only issue was policy on local calls. Note in room said first 60 mins free then .10 afterwards. They charged .85 per call. The front desk said that was in addition to the posted rate ( of free) but after some discussion the charges were waived

They were easy to deal with and have a free shuttle to Dulles.

A bright spot in a 36 hour united air saga

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We needed a hotel to stay in near the airport that provided "park and fly" options (that essentially pay for the cost of the hotel as opposed to parking). The Reston Sheraton was a bit farther but also a bit cheaper. The check-in/check out was fine. The room adequate. The parking was well lit and the shuttle dependable.

But the hotel clearly is used by people needing a meeting space (as was true when we were there). Our room was near the elevator and we could clearly hear people walking up and down the hallway.

Nothing to write about that would tell people not to stay here, but nothing to recommend it to attract people who had other options.

Room Tip: Make sure that you realize that the Sheraton Herndon has a separate airport shuttle when you are tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rshorter, General Manager at Sheraton Reston Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience and glad to hear the hotel was adequate for your needs. Our hotel is well position with catering to individual travelers and convention groups. Our service levels are above average and we strive to exceed every guest expectation. We appreciate your kind comments of our hotel and hope to welcome you back on another visit in future.

Warm regards,

Ralph Shorter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Reston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Reston Hotel

Address: 11810 Sunrise Valley Drive, Reston, VA 20191
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Reston Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In suburban Virginia, close to many large technology firms, the Sheraton is adjacent to a golf course and 1 mile from the shops and restaurants at Reston Town Center. Complimentary 24-hour airport transportation is provided every 30 minutes to and from Washington Dulles. Also, complimentary daily shuttle service is available within a 2-mile radius, 7 AM-10 PM (subject to availability). Lounge chairs and umbrella tables surround the seasonal outdoor pool, located in a landscaped courtyard. A self-serve business center and complimentary fitness center are accessible 24 hours. The hotel has 18 meeting/conference rooms. A computer station and Internet point are available; wireless Internet access is complimentary in the lobby area. Syrah restaurant offers American fare, the Cosmopolitan Lounge provides a bar menu and pool table, and a 24-hour sundry shop stocks Starbucks coffee and snacks. Dogs, 40 pounds or less, are allowed without surcharges. Complimentary for use during stay is the Sheraton red, white, and blue dog bed. Owners are provided with food, water bowls and temporary ID tags with hotel contact information. A pet waiver must be signed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Reston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Reston
Reston Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Reston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.