We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful what you eat here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Reston Heights

Save Saved
You added Westin Reston Heights to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Reston Heights
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11750 Sunrise Valley Drive, (Opening May 20, 2008), Reston, VA 20191   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Reston
sacramento, ca
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Be careful what you eat here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We waited over 1 month to share this review in hopes that we would hear from management before it came to this. We were put up at the Reston by United Airlines on July 19,2013, room #523 . The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are great, the beds are comfortable, but be careful what you eat. We ordered room service as it was already after 10:30 and we were exhausted after our overseas flight had been delayed numerous hours. Our teen daughter ordered vanilla ice cream with berry strudel. Imagine her surprise when she bit into something crunchy. When she pulled it out of her mouth it was a dead June bug. We immediately called the manager who called the kitchen manager. They made a couple of apologies & offered to pay for our meal, which United Airlines had already paid for. They couldn't pay for breakfast (which was already covered by United). The next morning at 6 a.m. while waiting for the shuttle there were live and dead June bugs in the seating area that were also brought to the attention of the manager. Since returning home we have called several times asking for a copy of their report regarding this matter. We are being put off and not one single time has anyone from the hotel contacted us regarding this matter. Perhaps hoping to sweep it under the rug just like the June bugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    74
    23
    11
    7
See reviews for
44
47
25
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was a trip meant for a couple days but it turned into more than that due to a family member having some issue's. I will say that this hotel is really great and in a great location from D.C. The hotel itself looks great and the rooms and really well appointed and up to par with other hotels. The only issue I had really was the housekeeping staff, they seem to be doing half of there job. The time I stayed there I noticed that we would be missing either soap or a towel from what we were given on the first day. I wasn't a huge deal as the hotel made up for the small problem from housekeeping, Overall I enjoyed my stay and would recommend others to go as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Front Office Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Westin Reston Heights! I am delighted to hear that our location and staff exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms and consider it a gem. I'm happy to say that we are always working to keep our rooms looking fresh and clean and I do apologize that the rooms did not meet your expectations.

I hope that you will choose us when staying in Reston again so we can provide you with an experience to be expected at a four star hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Everything was excellent; clean, elegant, the personnel very friendly and helpful. In addition, the hotel has ample underground free parking. We cannot comment on the quality of the food, since we did not eat at the hotel. We also liked the location of the hotel because it was very close to a number of places we visited in the area. We did not stay at this hotel with the intention to visit downtown Washington, DC. which is, indeed, not very close. A number of good restaurants are not far at the Reston Town Center, just 5 minutes of driving from the hotel. All in all, we were very pleased with the hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Unhappysadtraveler,

I am happy to hear that your visit exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for the kind words about our team, we were all pleased to read your feedback. I certainly hope that your travels will bring you back to the area so that we can have you back as a guest.

Be well,
John Robinson
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel, and we were very favorably impressed. The front desk staff was friendly, welcoming and efficient, which is always a good start. The lobby and public spaces are tastefully decorated with modern, upscale furnishings and accessories, and the guest room was spacious and well-appointed. Although we didn't try it, there is a bistro and wine bar located in the hotel that looked very nice. This hotel is conveniently located to many activities in Reston, and there is shuttle service to Dulles Airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sheryl C,

Thank you very much for the kind words about our hotel and the team! I am pleased to hear that the stay exceeded your expectations. I hope that you get the opportunity to experience Vinifera on your next visit to the area. Thank you again for the favorable review and I look forward to having you back as a guset.

Be well,
John Robinson
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, FL
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Emergency landing causes us to stay a night here. I have SPG membership & thought that would provide us a nice room for a night.
The shuttle service also services the nearby Sheraton so both times we used it was either full or left waiting passengers for next shuttle.
The desk clerk, Mark, was wonderful and provided us with missing toiletries (ours was in a checked bag that went missing) and also took our room service order just prior to closing at 11pm.
While the bed was wonderful, a bathroom light had burned out, the digital clock not lit & the desk lamp unplugged. No night gown either (in miasing bag) but found a robe behind door on hanger...yippee! Something clean to put on after shower. As I removed from hanger, makeup around neckline and odor or another's perfume. Ick!
Delta needs to provide better accommodations for their business sky priority passengers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear SRQTravelQueen,

Our proximity to IAD airport allows us the opportunity to be an oasis for distressed airline travelers such as yourself, and I am very sorry that we missed the mark on your stay. Thank you for the kind comments about our team and the comfortable bed. I hope that you will get the chance to experience our hotel again so that we can show you why so many guests love our people and hotel!

Be well,
John Robinson
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A one night stay acquired through Hotwire. I was very satisfied with the facility and the parking situation. I had a meal in the hotel which was convenient. A good place to stay if you have early flights and don't want to wrestle with traffic. Check out was smooth and easy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Acruzu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Westin Reston Heights. I am very pleased that you found the hotel to be convenient and enjoyable. I hope to have you back as a guest the next time you have an early flight out of Dulles.

Be well,
John Robinson
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Situated just of the main roads around Washington, in a residential and large office complex, this a modern hotel. Great lobby, nice for relaxing. Large comfortable rooms as one would expect from the Starwood properties. Very friendly staff, professional and knowledgeable. Easy self parking with no charge. A really nice place to rest for a stopover on a long drive, or to relax before catching a flight from Dulles

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear John W,

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for such a detailed and thoughtful review. The team really appreciates your kind words and I hope we can welcome you back as a guest again soon.

Be well,
John Robinson
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Reston Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Reston Heights

Address: 11750 Sunrise Valley Drive, (Opening May 20, 2008), Reston, VA 20191
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Reston Heights 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for business or leisure, The Westin Reston Heights is a blend of comfort and sophistication moments from Dulles International Airport and a short cab ride from our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westin Reston Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Reston Heights Hotel Reston
Reston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Reston Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.