We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Reston Heights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Reston Heights to your Saves list
Westin Reston Heights
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11750 Sunrise Valley Drive, (Opening May 20, 2008), Reston, VA 20191   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Reston
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I have clocked up a lot of nights here and have enjoyed everyone of them. The front desk staff are some of the best I have found anywhere in the world. To the point where I think they "carry" some of the other departments who are less efficient. Housekeeping is very poor. They fail to remove/change dirty glasses or replace missing laundry forms etc. i feel the room is never fully serviced during your stay.

The rooms are all very comfortable and I found it to be a "quiet hotel".

Bar - great, the Tapas style menu for the business traveller is excellent, allowing you to eat a little or a lot, depending how you feel. The wine goes without saying given the hotel has the best wine bar for miles around. Don't hesitate to ask the wait staff for advice, they are both knowledgable and friendly.

This is one of the best Westin's I know.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    90
    25
    11
    7
See reviews for
51
53
26
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My best friend and I stayed at this hotel after our flights to Rio were cancelled and we couldn't have been happier! This hotel is gorgeous!!! After a long night in the airport, Alisher and Justin checked us in with a smile and made us laugh despite our sad situation. We unlocked the door to amazing clean and comfortable room! Thumbs Up! They knew our situation and were not bothered by the fact that we needed a late check out. They also gave us suggestions of shopping nearby and offered to hold our luggage! Upon check out, Michael and Mare gave us big smiles and informed us of the nearby festival! The hotel should feel lucky to have such great employees working for them! Amazing experience! If I'm ever in Reston again....this is where I'll be staying! :) thanks guys!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked on Hotwire without knowing the hotel and were definitely not disappointed. The hotel is about 30 minutes from DC but well worth the drive. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was great. The hot tub was a nice relaxing way to end those long days of trekking the DC sites. My only complaint would be the pillows. Usually upscale hotels have a variety of pillows on the bed so guests can choose one that suits their sleeping preference. All of these were the same and all were flat. Overall though, we had a terrific stay at the Westin.

Room Tip: They have a floor for Starwood Preferred Guests. It was very quiet and close to the gym, pool, and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Service was lacking at this Westin. I had several colleagues at the bar area where we ordered 3 very expensive bottles of champagne and the service people were very rude. Even my colleagues who never complain about bad service, complained about this.

At another instance in the restaurant, I tried to get seated, and they kept me waiting while they seated other businessmen.

The housekeeping s taff was also not up to snuff. They hardly cleaned my room, and when I called they said they had no one at housekeeping available to help.

At a minimum, I think they need to replace the restaurant staff. Even as a platinum member, I'd stay at a non starwood property, rather than coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Texan123Austin,

Thank you for leaving your feedback. I sincerely apologize the service you received did not meet the service standards we aim to deliver at the Westin Reston Heights. Your loyalty as a Platinum Starwood Preferred Guest is very important to us. I can assure you, this matter is being addressed so we may exceed all future guest expectations. I hope to have you back as a guest so that we can provide an experience more in line with what the Westin brand and the award winning Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro provide to our guests on a nightly basis. If there is anything I can do, please reach out to me directly at 703-234-3506.

Be well,
John Robinson
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First of all, this wasn't by choice. I missed a flight during the FAA/ATC/Gov't debacle. (First flight late, connection on time -- Beautiful!! Figures the flights in the DC area would be on time.) Anyway, I picked the Westin for my overnight stay and, let me tell you, this hotel is a beaut! The stone/marble work in the lobby, the fireplace, the overall look is top notch. The location is great because it's not in the middle of the DC mess. The exterior , especially at night, is amazing. Any wife would love to have you walk her up to this place for a stay. I didn't get to eat at the restaurant, so I don't have an opinion there. The room...hard to say just how good a job they did with it. Everything from the marble work to the exquisite bathroom to the bed to the nice size flat screen TV to everything else -- even the soap was exquisite. Justin at the front counter was great and the shuttle service (though I wish it ran more than every 30 minutes) did a great job helping me through a very stressful situation.

The down side: You pay for everything. I guess if you have a high scale, "a la carte" mentality, then it's fine. I'm used to the Holiday in Suites where breakfast and internet are included. I almost felt like I was going to see number of toilet flushes on my bill.(smile) A little dramatic, but I would say this is typical for the nicer hotels. You find out real quick how important your internet access is if you don't have a smartphone. The fridge isn't even an option. $1 for the water wasn't bad, but still. (I did call to see if use of the coffee maker, which came with Starbucks pouches, was free and it was.) One other thing I liked was they had a runner's route card at the desk, so I could have gotten in a run if I had time. A little thing for the less inclined, but I found it a nice touch.

All in all, it was exactly what I would expect from Westin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Westin Reston Heights, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Gadget 665,

Thank you for the positive review! Our property prides itself in accommodating travel delays and I am happy to hear our services met your expectations. The modern aesthetics, the white tea scents and bath amenities, and the Heavenly products are what distinguish the Westin brand. As you mentioned, the quiet location of our Reston Heights property is a complimentary shuttle-ride away from Reston Town Center and Dulles Airport and just 30 minutes outside of Washington D.C. Although our rooms include a cooler, we do provide refrigerators, as well as a variety of additional items, upon request. We hope you choose to stay with us again to experience the award-winning Vinifera Wine Bar & Bistro and our running routes!

Be well,
John Robinson
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I recently had a 7 night stay, whilst Attending ACR courses. The hotel is conveniently located, close to the ACR and Dulles Airport. There is a free Hotel shuttle from the airport and from the Hotel to Reston town centre. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean. The staff is very helpful and knowledgable. The gym and pool, located at the top floor, have a lovely view. The WiFi is fast and reliable. Reston is located about 45km from downtown Washington, so I would not recommend this hotel if your purpose is to visit DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for 1 night, April 12-13. Reserved one room through Airport Accomodations at the nightly rate of $80 USD. We had missed a connecting flight at Washington Dulles International Airport, so we were given a central hotel contact for "distressed passengers". At the airport, we looked at TripAdvisor reviews and chose the Westin since it was the top-rated hotel in the area and it offered a free airport shuttle.

Check-in was smooth, and there were generally two or three clerks at the front desk (although only one at check-out). They were helpful in understanding our situation and provided us with free toiletries (toothbrushes and toothpaste) since we didn't have our checked baggage with us. The lobby is very sleek with modern furnishings.

Our room (329) had a firm king bed, lounge chair, dresser, HD TV and a desk. There was also a single-cup coffee maker and two bottles of water (but only one was complimentary). The bathroom continued the modern design with a granite countertop and a "heavenly shower" with two shower heads instead of just one.

We needed to get Internet access to update our travel plans, so we opted to pay the $11.95 daily fee for in-room Internet service. I always find it odd that upscale hotels charge for what is becoming a basic amenity, but it is something that I can live with.

The pool and fitness center are located on the penthouse level. I was impressed that the pool and hot tub were always supervised by a lifeguard, and the fitness center had plenty of machines (four treadmills plus an assortment of steppers and stationery bikes) and a mini-fridge of cold towels.

My favorite amenity was the complimentary shuttle. It served not only the airport and the Reston Town Center (great place to find a nice restaurant or bar) but anywhere within a two-mile radius. That allowed us to make a stop at Target (12197 Sunset Hills Road) to pick up a phone charger and other essentials.

Despite the fact that there is not much around the hotel (a 7-Eleven convenience store was the only recognizable place), our unplanned stay at the Westin helped put us at ease despite our travel difficulties.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Reston Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Reston Heights

Address: 11750 Sunrise Valley Drive, (Opening May 20, 2008), Reston, VA 20191
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Reston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Reston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Reston Heights 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for business or leisure, The Westin Reston Heights is a blend of comfort and sophistication moments from Dulles International Airport and a short cab ride from our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Reston Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Reston Heights Hotel Reston
Reston Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Reston Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.