We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ma Margaret's House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ma Margaret's House to your Saves list
Ma Margaret's House
249 Greenfield Road, Reedville, VA 22539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Reedville B&B and Inns
Rungsted, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Newly renovated B&B with everything you need. The breakfast and staff were exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
26
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Ma Margaret's House, you are the best among B&Bs in my book. The privacy, room amenities, and overall warmth were delightful and a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the city. I especially appreciated the historical perspective as this B&B represents much more than just a vacation destination. Congratulations to Ma Margaret's for setting the bar high. I cannot wait to visit again.
My stay was so enjoyable and to share it with my family, as we celebrated my sister's birthday, with my best cousins in the world was the best treat ever. Moreover, to share that enjoyment at the Ma Margate's House was even better. We visited a few areas for shopping and enjoyed local wine tasting at a local winery...it was awesome!! Thank you so much for making our stay so remarkable!

Room Tip: The largest suite has a seating area, which is nice if you like to relax outside the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

My wife and I took a trip to the Northern Neck for bicycling and kayaking. This B&B lives up to the reviews we read. Clean and comfortable room. Great porches. Great breakfast. Nice price. Modern amenities with a classic feel. We enjoyed the junior suite because it gave us comfortable seating in our room. The area was perfect for our bikes and kayaks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This was my first time staying in a bed and breakfast. If they are all like Ma Margaret's, I will make bed and breakfasts part of all my travel plans. The innkeepers took care of me of from the time I arrived until the time I departed--very important for a single traveler. Both days I was served a big country breakfast. The inn was very clean, the beds were comfortable--just like home. The innkeepers made suggestions about things to explore, places to eat and checked each day to see how I emjoyed the day's events. There were ample shops to explore.

Room Tip: All the rooms are reasonably priced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Springfield, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I took advantage of early spring weather to take a weekend trip to the Northern Neck. I had my eye on this B&B, based on the great reviews on Trip Advisor. I wasn't disappointed!

The inn is located off the highway in a very quiet area...just the location if you're trying to get away from the noise of the city. The rooms are very well appointed...everything I needed was at hand.

The hospitality was great, as was the breakfast in the morning.

I stayed in the Ma Margaret's Junior Suite, which was perfect for one, and would have been great for two.

I'm looking forward to returning, once the ferries to the islands are up and running for the season.

I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We loved the feeling of home. The accomodations were like sleeping in our very own bed. The fresh well water was such a delight that taking a shower was so much more soothing than taking one in our home in CA. Breakfast was stupendous; courteous, warm and timely service with a menu that knocked our socks off every morning. The atmosphere was so calming as well. At times we felt like we were in a movie. Just simply the best!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Ma Margaret's House while visiting Reedville, Va. The house is absolutely gorgeous. Alva & Cynthia provided us with great hospitality and we thoroughly enjoyed the large, country breakfast! DE-LISH! Would highly recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ma Margaret's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Margaret's House

Address: 249 Greenfield Road, Reedville, VA 22539
Location: United States > Virginia > Reedville
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Reedville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ma Margaret's House Bed and Breakfast is a lovingly returned grandmother's house expanded to meet the needs of the twenty-first century. Today, it is opened to the public and avails to its visitors the same generous hospitality that family members have cherished for years.There are five beautifully decorated and spacious bedrooms, private baths, full southern style country breakfast, WI-FI, refrigerators and microwaves, private massage therapist, country vistas, and more.Take a cruise to one of the Chesapeake Bay Islands, book Tee time at the areas most promient golf course, or fish the bountiful waters with a charter Captain.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ma Margaret's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma Margaret's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.