We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reality Check needed "Best BBQ in VA"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smiley's Bar B Que

Smiley's Bar B Que
2489 Raphine Rd, Raphine, VA 24472
(540) 377-2505
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Raphine
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Reality Check needed "Best BBQ in VA"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is merely a counter in the corner of a rundown truck stop. The food wasn't awful but it surely isn't memorable either. The truck stop is so run down that it could make you question the food, although we didn't have any problems. Rest rooms are nasty - avoid them.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Barbecue for the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I had the Carolina barbecue. My husband had the Texas barbecue. We split the sandwiches and tasted each and both were very very good. And there was a lot of meat on the sandwich. The slaw and fries were also very good. And the sandwich side and drink for $6.99 was a very good deal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiehle, VA
Level Contributor
273 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Virginia is NOT a "Barbecue" State”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

And, "Smileys" proves it.

Overpriced and over-sauced doesn't make good barbecue.

Plus, the long line (Sunday afternoon) at the cashier to pay is pathetic.

And, "Smileys" is nowhere near good barbecue.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

The billboard says best bbq in Virginia. Run run as fast as you can....
If this is the best in Virginia. I feel sorry for Virginia. I can make better bbq on the engine of my suburban. The people that work there are very nice. But wow I was stocked. First its a truck stop, with filthy dirty disease ritten bathrooms. Had I used the restroom first I would had never ordered. Wow just OMG WOW!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Saw there billboard says they are best in Virginia, wrong! I have been fighting indigestion for almost 15 hours. Had a bbq with coleslaw sandwich im regretting every bite. Its a truck stop sideshow , I suggest hitting the real truck stop across highway.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smiley's Bar B Que also viewed

 

Been to Smiley's Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiley's Bar B Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.