We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockbridge Wine Pairing Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockbridge Vineyard

Rockbridge Vineyard
35 Hillview Lane, Raphine, VA 24472
(540) 377-6204
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 attractions in Raphine
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Englewood, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rockbridge Wine Pairing Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Attended a wine pairing dinner thanks to Ray and Melissa at Steeles Tavern Manor Bed & Breakfast. Beautiful ground, great wine and excellent food!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Norman, North Carolina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Wonderful wine, friendly guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stopped at Rockbridge Vineyards because we had tried their wine at a Lexington restaurant and wanted more of it! What a wonderful, warm and inviting place. We did the tasting, which was free, were shown the facilities and then we bought the wine we wanted to take home. We also ended up buying some cheese from a farm up the street, and that was delish! Can't wait to go back and also check out the farm.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the pioneers of the VA wine scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I had tried this line wine before at the VA Wine Festival but there as usually wines that don't make it to festivals we wanted to stop in. We were able to get a group tour with the vintner's wife (delightful woman, didn't catch her name, obviously this is a labor of love!). She told us they had been in business since the late '90s (back when there were like 80 wineries in VA, not it's like over 250 and growing!). She showed us the grapes, processing center and where some of the barrels where stored. Interestingly they bring in a self-contained bottling truck a few times a year to bottle (versus owning that equipment). The setting is an old dairy farm, very pretty. They do complimentary tastings (which is nice, many wineries charge to taste but then sometimes waive the fee if you purchase something). They have a decent line up of whites and reds, they have an almost punchy wine called Jeremiah Blush and they have a dessert ice wine (too sweet for me but interesting to try). If you're in the area, worth stopping in for a taste.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good wine, nice tasting room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stopped by Rockbridge Vineyards on the way back from Lexington. The tasting room was in an old converted barn, which had a nice atmosphere. The wines offered were good and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Well worth the short drive off Interstate 81.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Not Our Favorite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Sorry, but this is where we have to differ on opinions of this very small Vineyard/Shop. Have given it three chances, and we've found it to be tacky. Have to disagree about their wines as well. Purchased wine here twice and felt it to be quite substandard. Wondering why we feel so differently as all the other reviews....

Presume many to be tourists who are taken with the country location in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley...off the beaten path...not sure, but after visiting hundreds of wineries in our adult lives, this was at the bottom of our list.

Once again, sorry.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockbridge Vineyard also viewed

Been to Rockbridge Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockbridge Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rockbridge Vineyard to your Saves list