We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average Mexican restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocas

Rocas
7523 Lee Hwy, Radford, VA 24141
540-731-4117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Radford
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not your average Mexican restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Went in on a Wednesday night with my girlfriend who isn't a big fan of Mexican food. Our server Alex was very friendly and recommended the talapia fish tacos which were grilled and seasoned perfectly served with avocado and some sort of a chipotle sauce. The tacos also came with a house salad of mixed greens that you wouldn't expect from a Mexican restaunt. Needless to say my girlfriend was happy and we will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Nice, new and refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We dropped in for supper at the spur of the minute on a Wednesday evening. This location has hosted several food establishments over the decades. But Rocas is a completely revamped building with large parking lot.

We arrived just as Argentina beat the Netherlands in the World Cup semi finals.

Standard Mexican menu and prices. Fast friendly service by the American waiters (seemed a tad unusual for a Mexican restaurant).

I had a taco salad with shrimp. It was delicious although it had the consistency of a thick soup. Had it not been so filling, I would have asked for a spoon to finish the tasty mixture of shrimp, onions, green pepper and cheeses - but I only had room for 2/3 of it.

Table for 2 meals and a single pint of beer came to $22.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Got the lunch Dos Taquitos, both chicken, they were great cheese dip great.. chips and salsas you can't really mess up. Overall great first experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The Chori-Pollo was recommended by our server and it was fabulous!! Food was quick to come out, hot and fresh.
More people need to come here!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went here for lunch and ordered from the lunch menu. The chips and salsa were good. I had both beef and chicken and enjoyed the chicken more. The food was a little bland to me and the presentation was not that great. The staff were friendly and prompt in their service. If I were local I would probably not frequent this location. Prices were average in my experience. The building looks new and was very clean.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.