We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Italian food for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria

Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria
709 W. Main Street, Radford, VA 24141
+1 540-639-9669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Radford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Reasonable Italian food for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

OK, it's not New York, but Sal's serves up reasonable Italian food at almost reasonable prices. I dined here on a business trip to Radford and found it to be a typical Italian American restaurant with all the usual options--pastas, sandwiches, salads, etc. The menu is pretty extensive (check it out on TA), and you can spend a little or a lot depending on your tastes. I ordered the sausage and pepper sandwich, an Italian staple, to test the place out. The sausage could have been a little more Italian, with more seasoning, but it was OK for around $8. I couldn't tell if there was a wine menu or liquor license. My dining partners had salads which seemed OK and a steak sandwich. I wouldn't rave about this place, but given the limited options in Radford, it seemed OK and worth going to. Service was by what appeared to be Radford college students--friendly and generally efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best in Radford!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Sal's offers something Italian for everyone! Great food and very community focused ownership! Nothing beats Sal's for Italian cuisine in Radford!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Pizza Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Sal's is my favorite restaurant in Radford. My fav meals are Pizza, Calzone, Eggplant Parm and Chicken Parm.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Sal's is wonderful! Their pizza is excellent and their other dishes are equally as good! Their service is quick and friendly. They do their very best to please their customers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Italian with Southern Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Portions were more than fair for the prices. The bread was homemade and very fresh. Oh, the chocolate mousse cake! There were three of us and we each had a couple beers/glasses of wine each and the bill with tip came to about $70 - not one of us had a complaint about the food or service

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.