We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as always!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria

Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria
709 W. Main Street, Radford, VA 24141
+1 540-639-9669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Radford
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Virginia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Consistently great Italian food! I had eggplant parm today. There were 8 of us and everyone loved their food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    22
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galax, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Pizza around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Sal's has some of the best pizza I've ever had. Their other Italian dishes are also very good. Service was very good each of the times we have been there. Highly recommended

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I was checking out Tripadvisor for ideas where to eat after dropping my daughter off at Radford University. I read the reviews from others and decided to give it a try. There were 3 people in our party and we each had something different. To start, the service was fantastic. We all had a salad which came with the pasta dishes. It was a standard side salad but the vegetables were fresh and crisp. It was served with a side of bread and dipping oil. I tried all three of the entrees that we ordered and they were delicious. The portions were large. I would defiantly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“They made a great night for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We went to Sal's a few months ago to check the place out for a larger event we were hosting. We were impressed with their food and service, and the place looked very nice. The event was a wedding rehearsal dinner for about twenty five people, so we wanted to be sure it was a good place for all of our guests. They didn't disappoint, in fact they went out of their way to make sure everything went perfectly. They helped with the planning by being responsive and offering suggestions. They had the private room ready for us so we could do some early set-up and decorating. Their wait staff was very attentive throughout the dinner. And the mix of food was very good and plentiful. They helped make the night a great one without any concerns. This is a place to support.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toano, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have family in the area, and we always make it a point to eat at Sal's when visiting. We have eaten there multiple times over the last 25 years. The food never disappoints and the pasta dishes and calzones are very tasty. We also sometimes just order pizza and that's usually pretty delish as well. Only had a bad experience once with a very rude waitress, but that was a few years ago and most recently wait staff was friendly and efficient.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sal's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.