We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Radford University, too convenient to the road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Radford

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Radford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Radford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 Tyler Avenue, Radford, VA 24141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Radford
charlottesville
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Convenient to Radford University, too convenient to the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The LaQuinta is barely 1 mile from Radford University, about 2 miles off I-81 on route 177 aka Tyler Ave. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The room was plain but for $70 it was a bargain. The wifi connection was strong and reliable. My main complaint was that I asked for a quiet room and got one facing the street. In fact, from the parking lot and even from the road I could see into my room, including the TV, desk lamp, and door! With the curtains open, you could not walk anywhere in the room that was not visible to street. There was traffic noise from the road, especially at night. If you stay here, ask for a room not facing the street. The breakfast was the standard fix-it-yourself. There is a Bistro but it was not open anytime I checked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear, not the highway out front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    50
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
107
23
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Let me start this with I entered the lobby and stood at the front desk as the lady who works at the front desk stands there at the computer for about 5 minutes before she looks up at me then continues for a minute or two then finally says can I help you, The hotel has tile floors thru out including the hallways which is nice when you are sleeping or relaxing hearing rolling bags or maid carts banging down the hallway. The rooms have no carpet but wooden floors which were cold and dirty my socks showed as I stayed there.The walls are so thin you can hear people breathing next door. The bed was ok the pillows were either worn out or too soft. It was inexpensive to stay there so again you get what you pay for applies.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Doing the college tour thing. Arrived at 10 am, Amber & Becky did their best to get us settled. They don't have the Bistro open on Sundays, but Amber said she would be happy to make me anything I wanted. There was a snowstorm, so I was a little worried. The front desk staff & cleaning staff were wonderful. Room was comfortable, internet worked, very close to Radford and the Food Lion! Thank you all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I read other reviews that said this property had thin walls but that was the worst ever. I could tell what tv channel my neighbors were watching and the volume was not loud. I could hear everything in the hall as well

Otherwise the room and common areas were immaculate and the staff very polite and efficient. Very good WiFi too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had to travel for a funeral, and made a two-night reservation here. The inn was booked because of the 8-inch snow the night before and there was a college basketball game in town one night. The girls basketball team was staying here and there was a good bit of noise in the hall and next door. However, as soon as it was 11 p.m., everything got quiet, I guess they had a curfew. The next night was a different story because whoever was next door to us, came in at 3:16 a.m., and I could hear them talking through the walls. They also woke me up a couple of more times talking loudly, and then at 7 a.m., they turned the TV on. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The breakfast had the normal cereals, bagels, muffins, fruit cups, but also biscuits and sausage gravy, if you're a fan of that. They didn't have the usual waffles that you can cook yourself, but I guess everyone doesn't need them all the time because of calories. We had an enjoyable time, but I guess it depends upon who else is staying in the hotel at the time. The walls were thin, and if one dog barked at something, our dog joined in. They didn't have the normal soda pop machines and snack machines, only a few items that you could buy from the front desk, so if you want more, you might need to bring your own. To get to the hotel from Interstate 81, you had to drive past the hotel and make a U-turn. We would probably stay here again if we needed to, but during the week might be better than on a weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were upgraded to the suite and it was amazing. Clean, quiet, welcoming staff. There was also a small lounge where we were able to grab a glass of wine after a long day of driving. We use LQ often and actually wished we could have spent an extra night!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at this LaQuinta on a business trip. I don't need a lot of frills in a hotel room. I just want a comfortable bed, enough quiet to sleep, and a clean room. I got all of that at a reasonable price. My job takes me to this area a couple of time a year, and the Radford LaQuinta will be my hotel stop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Radford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Radford

Address: 1450 Tyler Avenue, Radford, VA 24141
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Radford 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Radford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Radford Hotel Radford
La Quinta Radford
Radford La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Radford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.