We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Radford

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Radford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Radford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1450 Tyler Avenue, Radford, VA 24141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Radford
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have stayed here three times over the last two years. It is a clean hotel with a friendly staff. It is not right off the highway but about two miles into Radford near the university. We like to stay in Radford as there is a brew pub across the river that makes good beer. A nice treat on our Massachusetts to Atlanta trip. This hotel is pet friendly and has refrigerators. We have not tried the Bistro. Breakfast is the usual rolls, cereal, and fruit. Nothing special but good to have a bit before we hit the road.

Room Tip: There are tile floors so it can be noisy in the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    51
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
111
24
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Overnight Stop. Rooms were in excellent shape. Staff was very accommodating. Arrived late (around 9pm) happy to find that the restaurant was still open. Upgrade yourself for a Jacuzzi room - great way to finish the day

Room Tip: If interested ask for a Jacuzzi room. Ask about small in-house restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Say no to the Bistro in Radford: we went to the Bistro Bar and Grill at the La Quinta in Radford, Virginia during a crosscountry trip this past summer. It was convenient, just down the hallway, the first La Quinta I've seen with an eatery. But the convenience was offset by the lack of value. They charged us $64.09 for 2 chicken fettucines, one lasagna, and one takeout chicken sandwich with thin slices of cheesecake for dessert. The meals were tiny. They had no accompaniments except for almost invisible salads, dry bread, and small glasses of iced tea and Coke. We were still hungry at the end of the meal, nor was anything that tasty. We certainly wouldn't eat here again. Unfortunately no stand alone restaurant is next to the motel, which is probably why we shouldn't have stayed here to begin with. The Mexican grill at the Best Western across the street is probably the same sort of set up as the Bistro.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Park, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

After traveling for 10 hrs, we had arrived early and was unsure if a room would be ready.
I was greeted by two of the nicest and accommodating young ladies telling me, that our room was ready.
I usually ask to to see the room prior to checking in and was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and comfort of our room.
After waking from a great night of sleep, I went to the breakfast area to get a cup of coffee.
It was the best coffee that I've had in a Motel!
Thanks for the Sausage Gravy recipe!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

La Quinta is your basic middle of the road hotel experience. The value LQ provides is great for the price point.

The Radford LQ is conveniently located, with quick access to many different points of interest. The lobby is well decorated and inviting. The staff polite and very accomodating. Rooms do have a fridge and we were allowed to use the microwave in the breakfast area.

The downsides of this location are the beautiful tile hallway floors and shower walls and floor. They truly are beautiful and add to a nice ambiance. However, in the hallway they provide no sound proofing from the basic movements and conversations of other guests, and they reflect additionally light from the hallway into the room at night. The idea of a tiled shower area is a nice one. That said, it creates for a slippery floor and the optimal environment for mold growth if the grout isn't properly and regularly sealed (yep I saw a small amount of mold). From simply a personal preference point of view, I do prefer the option of a bath tub as well which this LQ doesn't have.

All of that said, I will be staying at this same location again in the near future with ear plugs packed :-). I have no hesitation to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

No complaints here. The room was nice and clean, quiet and I had the fitness room to myself. The fitness room had a portable air conditioner which I really liked to keep the air circulating and just as cool as I wanted. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Though tile hallways may be good for travelers with pets, they make the hotel noisy. And the room walls are thin so we could hear the guests on either side of our room. The room and bathroom were fairly clean but tired and worn looking. The breakfast buffet was marginal at best and was never restocked during the two hours I was in the room waiting for the rest of the family to wake up. Not likely that we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Radford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Radford

Address: 1450 Tyler Avenue, Radford, VA 24141
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Radford 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn Radford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Radford Hotel Radford
La Quinta Radford
Radford La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Radford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.