We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mini vacation within a vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast
7535 Lee Highway, Radford, VA 24141   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Deal!
Ranked #1 of 1 Radford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, IN
1 review
“A mini vacation within a vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We traveled here from Indiana because our youngest niece was married here on the 22nd. The rehearsal and wedding were both held here so my husband and I and other family members had the pleasure of staying at the Inn for two nights during the festivities. Nesselrod is fabulous! The grounds are absolutely gorgeous; the flowers and greenery are breathtaking and the grounds are meticulously kept. The wedding was held outside in the gazebo and it was fabulous. It's a beautiful place to hold a wedding and the area used for the rehearsal dinner and the wedding reception was just perfect.

The Bed & Breakfast is so warm and cozy inside; all the bedrooms were unbelievable. The shower in our room was much nicer than we even have in our own home...a fabulous shower!! The touches I appreciated the most were the small things such as a container of cotton balls and Q-tips in the bathroom, a towel warmer (wish I had one of them), fresh flowers all over and the heavenly tempurpedic bed!! What a pleasure to lie down on it for a good night's sleep after a hectic day. I am very particular about what pillows I sleep on (usually take my own pillows everywhere) and these were just right. There was absolutely nothing to complain about as it was clean, fresh and neat and everything there that you could possibly want - even the hair dryer was provided.

The food was magnificent; one morning, breakfast was served at the bay window, round table. Juice, water and coffee was set out where we could get it as we pleased. The food was brought in and served and the pampering was wonderful. The next morning, we were served in the main dining room and all the food was placed on the table so that we could serve ourselves and again, the food was excellent. Rebecca is a fantastic cook. In fact, you couldn't have asked for nicer people to run the place than her and Mark. My husband and I were so impressed with the work that they put into the place and the kind service that we received while there. You positively will not go wrong in booking a room there if you're ever through this area. It is A-one and a beautiful place to hold an event or just to have some quiet time. Get on the internet and look it up; I guarantee that you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
28
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

This was my second stay at Nesselrod. We were in Radford for graduation. Mark and Rebecca were gracious hosts and in fact Mark allowed us to use the back patio and grill for a cook out following graduation. Beautiful rooms and great hospitality in a one of kind setting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Had a girls weekend get away and Nesselrod made it exactly that. It was a wonderful time spent with friends, a beautiful B&B inside and outside made for R&R with wonderful service that added to the experience. Thank You : )

Strongly recommended to any couple wanting a romantic experience or that girls/guys weekend retreat for some R&R and fun.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

From the moment we stepped out of the car, the new owner of this historic B & B made us feel completely at ease and at home.
We were so happy to know that an enthusiastic person rescued the premises from development. The owner is dedicated to provide the best in service and ambience.
There are wonderful improvements and subtle, but important modernizations. Great internet service and new, flat screen TV's. The rooms are lovely, as always, decorated beautifully with antiques. We were here to visit our daughter, a student at RU. The location is perfect. Close to all campus activities, yet secluded in peaceful surroundings overlooking the New River. Our meals were delicious!
We think anyone would be very pleased after a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I was in town for one night for a job interview at a nearby location. My wife joined me for the trip when we found the listing for Nesselrod B&B on the internet. We were the only guests that night. The bedroom was beautifully decorated. The living room had a wonderfully, deep-cushioned, cozy sofa with a warm fireplace and a large flat screen TV mounted above the mantle piece. The entire lay out inside and out was decorated with lots of old world antiques and themes balanced perfectly with modern-day amenities and state-of-the-art luxury. Would love to visit again during the summer or autumn months and would definitely recommend the B&B to anyone interested in an unforgettable, pampered experience. The proprietor and staff were very nice, devoted and dedicated to serving the needs and comforts of their guests!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Nesselrod on the New River is a favorite weekend stay of ours. We have come to Nesselrod to get away from our busy lives and enjoy each other's company on more than a few occasions. This bed & breakfast has a lush natural setting, and yet accommodates many with modern amenities for weddings and other types of celebrations. The home and estate give one a setting of true class and elegance. The rooms are very comfortable to stay in and delightful just to behold! Each has a special theme. The host is very friendly, listens to us, makes a truly memorable, fantastic breakfast every time, and is always accommodating and helpful to us when we stay there. We love this place very much, and with good reason.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

The innkeeper was most gracious and the home is immaculate. Each room is unique. The grounds are very well kept. It was quiet and relaxed. We had a wonderful breakfast and enjoyed learning about the history of the home and the town. There is much to do in this area for nature enthusiasts, and the Inn is located in a college town-Radford, and very close to Virginia Tech. Lots of charm.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radford
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Radford Inn
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dublin
Hampton Inn Dublin
#1 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7535 Lee Highway, Radford, VA 24141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1939 this elegant garden estate is now host to guest for overnight stays, weddings and special events. Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast has five bedrooms overlooking the New River in Radford, VA making it a great place to stay while visiting Radford University and Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, VA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesselrod b&b
Nesselrod Hotel Radford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.