We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay from start to finish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast
7535 Lee Highway, Radford, VA 24141   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Deal!
Ranked #1 of 1 Radford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
PA
1 review
“We enjoyed our stay from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

From the moment we stepped out of the car, the new owner of this historic B & B made us feel completely at ease and at home.
We were so happy to know that an enthusiastic person rescued the premises from development. The owner is dedicated to provide the best in service and ambience.
There are wonderful improvements and subtle, but important modernizations. Great internet service and new, flat screen TV's. The rooms are lovely, as always, decorated beautifully with antiques. We were here to visit our daughter, a student at RU. The location is perfect. Close to all campus activities, yet secluded in peaceful surroundings overlooking the New River. Our meals were delicious!
We think anyone would be very pleased after a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
28
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powhatan, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I was in town for one night for a job interview at a nearby location. My wife joined me for the trip when we found the listing for Nesselrod B&B on the internet. We were the only guests that night. The bedroom was beautifully decorated. The living room had a wonderfully, deep-cushioned, cozy sofa with a warm fireplace and a large flat screen TV mounted above the mantle piece. The entire lay out inside and out was decorated with lots of old world antiques and themes balanced perfectly with modern-day amenities and state-of-the-art luxury. Would love to visit again during the summer or autumn months and would definitely recommend the B&B to anyone interested in an unforgettable, pampered experience. The proprietor and staff were very nice, devoted and dedicated to serving the needs and comforts of their guests!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Nesselrod on the New River is a favorite weekend stay of ours. We have come to Nesselrod to get away from our busy lives and enjoy each other's company on more than a few occasions. This bed & breakfast has a lush natural setting, and yet accommodates many with modern amenities for weddings and other types of celebrations. The home and estate give one a setting of true class and elegance. The rooms are very comfortable to stay in and delightful just to behold! Each has a special theme. The host is very friendly, listens to us, makes a truly memorable, fantastic breakfast every time, and is always accommodating and helpful to us when we stay there. We love this place very much, and with good reason.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

The innkeeper was most gracious and the home is immaculate. Each room is unique. The grounds are very well kept. It was quiet and relaxed. We had a wonderful breakfast and enjoyed learning about the history of the home and the town. There is much to do in this area for nature enthusiasts, and the Inn is located in a college town-Radford, and very close to Virginia Tech. Lots of charm.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Nesselrod expecting a luxurious, relaxing getaway but instead were very disappointed. Nesselrod is under new ownership and the couple running things now has no background in hospitality. The service and food were poor and the house has seen better days.

Save your money and try another B&B in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

I was traveling to a ChemEd Conference and I wasn't sure what to expect in a small town like Radford, Va. I was instantly charmed by the hospitality of Mark and Rebecca. They treated me like an honored guest during my entire stay. Their 3 course breakfasts are amazing, and they gave excellent dining recommendations in the area. Time just flew and I was sorry to leave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Had my son's rehearsal dinner here. Groom's family rented all rooms for weekend. Boy, was this the place! Linens, mattresses, furniture, carpets all top of the line. I felt like we had reserved a luxurious country estate! Only problem was selecting ones room! All so different! Breakfasts were excellent Gardens encouraged strolling and quiet relaxing. Large flat screen and comfortable sofas in great room for game watching. Inn owner was unobtrusive, out of our way but available when needed. Great!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radford
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Radford
La Quinta Inn Radford
#1 of 3 in Radford
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Radford Inn
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Christiansburg/Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Christiansburg
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Dublin
Hampton Inn Dublin
#1 of 5 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7535 Lee Highway, Radford, VA 24141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesselrod Hotel Radford
Nesselrod b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.