We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Radford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
7535 Lee Highway, Radford, VA 24141   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Radford B&B and Inns
Banner Elk, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I were traveling to Virginia to visit the Blue Ridge Parkway and spent a night at the Nesselrod. It was everything and more they advertise on their site. The staff really went all out to make us feel at home starting with a tour of the grounds. It felt like being at home with a lot more posh. We would for sure return and will recommend to our friends. Bravo!

Room Tip: The Thomas room was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
24
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Spent 3 nights here with my family of 4. Kids are 11 and 14. We stayed in the Lilac room and the Lily of the Valley room.

What a fantastic experience! Mark was a great host and Sean's breakfasts were outstanding. We always felt welcomed and catered to. The entire home was clean and organized. Like a home away from home. What a gem in the middle of an area severely lacking nice hotels. We will stay here, again. Looking forward to it!

Sincerely,
The Baldwins

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Such a beautiful house with absolutely gorgeous gardens. The owner and inn keeper at this B&B were so helpful and cooked us an awesome breakfast. I highly recommend Nesselrod to anyone looking for a special, memorable experience. Can't wait to stop in again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stopped to see our son in Radford and chose to stay overnight at Nesselrod. Although we are not world travelers and are easily satisfied this B&B was very satisfying. Sean greeted us with a smile and an offer to rest while our rooms wrote being prepared. The facility is in great shape and the grounds were immaculate. I would highly recommend this facility

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Having contributed to NPR's fall phonathon, we were fortunate to be winners in a random drawing for an overnight stay in the Nesselrod B&B, along with an all weather radio and a large box of cheeses. We were delighted to stay in the Enchanted Garden Room, which overlooked the New River from one dormer window and from the dormer window on the other side of the house we looked down on the formal garden. The room was very comfortable including the bed and bedding, and the wall-to-wall hand painted mural was charming and lovely. Our host, Mark, prepared our delicious breakfast, helped by doggie friend, Buddy, who kept an eye on things. We walked around the property, noticed the sunken garden, numerous flower beds, various seating areas, and the gazebo and realized why the Inn is host to so many outdoor events during the summer months - weddings, graduation parties, concerts and festivals. Our weather was beautiful, and we want to come back again. Thanks to NPR!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed in the Nesselrod for two nights on a business trip to Radford University. Perched on a hill above the river, this B&B has pleasant gardens and a Victorian feel. The house is very nicely appointed, with cove moldings, bay windows, and chair rails. The main floor has a nice living room/sitting area with a fireplace. I was put into a room on the first floor that had extremely ornate decor, almost Louis IV, just a bit over the top. The proprietors moved me to a second-floor room on the second night, insisting that it would be better (I had not complained about the first room). The second room was larger, with a fireplace and excellent decor, somewhat eclectic (but the fireplace wouldn't turn on). There was an in-wall ironing board in the first room but not in the second. On my first night, there was no hot water, which wasn't a problem until I awoke in the morning and tried to take a shower: no hot water. Sean went to the basement to flip a switch, but I didn't have time to wait until the water heater made the water warm enough, so I took a lukewarm shower: not fun. The first floor room had no separate heating control while the second-floor room did. The rooms themselves were very comfortable, including the bedding and beds. Beware that there are only one or two hangers for clothes and no closets, and also that the walls are very thin: you can easily hear voices from the other rooms and the sounds of creaking floors as people walk. However, this is not a major liability since it's an old house, and guests at B&Bs tend to retire at a reasonable hour. Sean is a terrific cook and the breakfasts are to die for. There's a resident chocolate lab named Buddy who is a great addition to the property. Free WiFi service is also included, and plentiful free parking. Small details need attending to, such as jams on the table for toast/muffins, but any lapses are immediately accommodated on request. Overall, one of the best places to stay in Radford (not many other choices), with very attentive owners.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms if possible; they're all really different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our entire family stayed at Nesselrod for our daughter's pinning and graduation from RU's nursing program. Sean was amazing; he had wonderful breakfasts for us (even for the overflow family members staying in a near by hotel) every morning, and also cooked up an amazing family dinner straight from the pages of Southern Living magazine to include a most wonderful red velvet cheese cake a foot tall!!! Everyone was so cozy comfortable at the inn. Nesselrod's was our home away from home and was it just perfect! Thank you Mark and Sean for providing gracious accommodations and making our daughter's graduation weekend a memorable event!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7535 Lee Highway, Radford, VA 24141
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Nesselrod b&b
Nesselrod Hotel Radford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.