We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another beautiful wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast
7535 Lee Highway, Radford, VA 24141   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Deal!
Ranked #1 of 1 Radford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another beautiful wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We held our daughter’s wedding in early July at Nesselrod on the New in the formal garden gazebo. The grounds were gorgeous and well maintained. The daisies were in bloom making for a beautiful setting. The on-site wedding coordinator kept everyone on schedule and did a remarkable job of managing the day to the plan. She was able to minimize the drama and was very flexible. We used Blue Ridge Catering for the caterers. The food was fantastic. I would definitely recommend them to anyone having a wedding in the area. After dinner was served, everyone socialized around the patio. The band set up on the deck and the guests danced on the patio. There was ample room for everyone to dance or mingle.
During the weekend of the wedding, we stayed at the bed and breakfast. Mark and Rebecca, the hosts, were absolutely wonderful. They were exceptionally flexible and professional and created a relaxing atmosphere before, during and after the wedding. The breakfasts Rebecca served were delicious and enjoyed by everyone. It was wonderful to not have to leave the grounds once arriving for the wedding, especially for some of the older guests. Nesselrod on the New created a private, intimate and self-contained space for the wedding and reception. Mark and Rebecca executed the wedding as promised and far exceeded our expectations. We received many comments from our guests that it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever attended. We would recommend Nesselrod on the New without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
26
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

My son and I spent a couple nights at Nesselrod while exploring Southwestern Virginia on a cross-country road-trip. It was a trip highlight. Mark and Rebecca provided us wonderful and very personal hospitality. Our room was very comfortable, and breakfast both mornings was very delicious and everything was homemade. And the property is conducive to relaxation and enjoyment. It's right on the river, and it has been beautifully landscaped. My son played his guitar down in their amphitheatre, and I took a yoga class. And from there, we explored "the crooked road" area of Virginia. Highly recommended. Would be great for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

My husband and I were the first wedding under the new ownership of Mark Gordon. Hands down, the best experience we could have ever had. My entire family stayed at the B&B for the wedding weekend, and we were truly encouraged to make the home--including all the grounds--our own. We had both the rehearsal dinner and the wedding there, and were encouraged to have as many friends/family staying elsewhere stop by throughout the weekend. Their affiliated caterer, Blue Ridge Catering out of Roanoke, offered the most unique and fabulous cuisine for our wedding. We are all a bunch of "food snobs", and couldn't have been more impressed with the fare - a "Blue Ridge tandoori station", grilled pork with amazing mashed sweet potatoes, gorgeous appetizers and signature drinks - and more than enough food to satisfy the hungriest guest. Originally from the northeast, the wedding we had here would have cost us 2-3x as much "back home". My exceedingly picky mother was beyond thrilled with every aspect of our stay. The wedding coordinator Tanya worked with us to make sure our event was truly "ours" - not what someone else thought it should be. The house looks like the perfect cape cod style cottage out of New England, coupled with small town hospitality, it was perfect. Mark doesn't miss a single detail, including a beautiful bouquet delivered to our home in honor of our first anniversary. This actually became a bit of a "destination" wedding for our friends from Boston, NY, DC, and Charlotte - my folks would never admit this in front of them, but they thought this wedding was more well-done - with a better location - than my brother's in Newport, RI. To me, that says it all!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We traveled here from Indiana because our youngest niece was married here on the 22nd. The rehearsal and wedding were both held here so my husband and I and other family members had the pleasure of staying at the Inn for two nights during the festivities. Nesselrod is fabulous! The grounds are absolutely gorgeous; the flowers and greenery are breathtaking and the grounds are meticulously kept. The wedding was held outside in the gazebo and it was fabulous. It's a beautiful place to hold a wedding and the area used for the rehearsal dinner and the wedding reception was just perfect.

The Bed & Breakfast is so warm and cozy inside; all the bedrooms were unbelievable. The shower in our room was much nicer than we even have in our own home...a fabulous shower!! The touches I appreciated the most were the small things such as a container of cotton balls and Q-tips in the bathroom, a towel warmer (wish I had one of them), fresh flowers all over and the heavenly tempurpedic bed!! What a pleasure to lie down on it for a good night's sleep after a hectic day. I am very particular about what pillows I sleep on (usually take my own pillows everywhere) and these were just right. There was absolutely nothing to complain about as it was clean, fresh and neat and everything there that you could possibly want - even the hair dryer was provided.

The food was magnificent; one morning, breakfast was served at the bay window, round table. Juice, water and coffee was set out where we could get it as we pleased. The food was brought in and served and the pampering was wonderful. The next morning, we were served in the main dining room and all the food was placed on the table so that we could serve ourselves and again, the food was excellent. Rebecca is a fantastic cook. In fact, you couldn't have asked for nicer people to run the place than her and Mark. My husband and I were so impressed with the work that they put into the place and the kind service that we received while there. You positively will not go wrong in booking a room there if you're ever through this area. It is A-one and a beautiful place to hold an event or just to have some quiet time. Get on the internet and look it up; I guarantee that you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

This was my second stay at Nesselrod. We were in Radford for graduation. Mark and Rebecca were gracious hosts and in fact Mark allowed us to use the back patio and grill for a cook out following graduation. Beautiful rooms and great hospitality in a one of kind setting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Had a girls weekend get away and Nesselrod made it exactly that. It was a wonderful time spent with friends, a beautiful B&B inside and outside made for R&R with wonderful service that added to the experience. Thank You : )

Strongly recommended to any couple wanting a romantic experience or that girls/guys weekend retreat for some R&R and fun.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

From the moment we stepped out of the car, the new owner of this historic B & B made us feel completely at ease and at home.
We were so happy to know that an enthusiastic person rescued the premises from development. The owner is dedicated to provide the best in service and ambience.
There are wonderful improvements and subtle, but important modernizations. Great internet service and new, flat screen TV's. The rooms are lovely, as always, decorated beautifully with antiques. We were here to visit our daughter, a student at RU. The location is perfect. Close to all campus activities, yet secluded in peaceful surroundings overlooking the New River. Our meals were delicious!
We think anyone would be very pleased after a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7535 Lee Highway, Radford, VA 24141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Radford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Radford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesselrod b&b
Nesselrod Hotel Radford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nesselrod Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.