We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love Macado's!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macado's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Macado's
510 E Main St, Radford, VA 24141-1720
540-731-4879
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 43 restaurants in Radford
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always love Macado's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first trip to the Radford Macado's. School hadn't started yet, so we could hear ourselves talk. Service, food, and value were all great. We love that they now offer fruit in addition to pretzels and chips. My guys love that there is plenty of meat on the sandwiches, and I love that they have plenty to offer to vegetarians! Décor, atmosphere, etc. were essentially the same as other Macado's locations. Always fun, always interesting, always love Macado's!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    4
    11
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Apparently the cooks don't understand why anyone would not want cheese!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Third trip to this restaurant within two weeks and each time the same result. I ordered my sandwich with no cheese and no mayo. Instead of the sandwich I ordered I got nothing more than lettuce and tomato on bread - not what was supposed to be on the sandwich. The explanation was that the cook didn't understand what would hold the sandwich together if it didn't have cheese. Have you ever heard of people with food allergies??? The food is good - just don't try to order something different than the way is is stated on the menu. So much for getting what you want, huh? At least the did remake the sandwich - took three times to get it right the last time I was there - and they didn't charge me for it. While that was a plus, it certainly did not make up for the irritation of not getting what you ordered.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faber, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than some”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The atmosphere is better than most Macados. Great place to play "I Spy" if travelling with kids. Food was quick and good. Waitress was nice and efficient. Staff out front, not very helpful if you are not familiar with the joint.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Sports bar with good food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

School was not in session, so wasn't too busy. Prices were fine, got a free sample of beer! Large portions and good service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Ordered to go...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Picked my order up. I don't know, but I think its skmehow better dining in than taking home. Sand which was just OK.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macado's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macado's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.