We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River City Grill

River City Grill
103 3rd Ave, Radford, VA 24141-4703
540-629-2120
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Radford
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

My spouse and I ate at this restaurant twice recently when passing through the area. We had sandwiches and beer both times, and we were very pleased with the quality of the food and beer and the service. Decent beer selection with some craft brews on tap. I liked the veggie melt sandwich so much that I had to order it both times. My husband was happy with his sandwich also. A large side of fries is included, or you may choose from a few other things. Not a fancy place, but great food done well. Especially liked the Devils Backbone Lager.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    28
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“River City Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

WONDERFUL AND CHILDREN FRIENDLY RESTAURANT. FOOD HAS BEEN FANTASTIC EVERYTIME THAT I HAVE EATEN THERE. The variety of food and the live music is a plus. I love looking at the artwork. The crab cakes are delicious. I love the country fries,too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Crab Cake Sandwich and the She Crab Soup par Excellance!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Chris and Heather Bell have old family recipes that they share in many of the items at the RIver City Grill on 3rd Street in Radford and what mouthwatering treats they are. The Crab Cake Sandwich along with a baked potato and cole slaw are some of my favorites. But, my weakness is the She Crab Soup for which a bowl of cannot be found lacking in anything at any seaside eatery...I should know because I've eaten it in lots of places from Maryland's Eastern Shore to the South's Savannah, Charleston and more...and in my palette's choices this is THE BIG ONE.
So, head on down to Radford on Fridays and enjoy a taste to remember...and enjoy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Home-Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This place is about as close as you'll get to a home-style meal in this day and age. The breakfast is their strong suit. Simple setting, decent and reliable food at moderate prices. If you're in Radford in need of a meal this is a solid choice.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Stopped in for lunch...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stopped at the River City Grill for lunch - busy, but really good service, food was a cut above average diner. Good value, tasty, fun. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River City Grill also viewed

 

Been to River City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River City Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.