We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River CO Restaurant & Brewery

River CO Restaurant & Brewery
6633 Viscoe Road, Radford, VA 24141
(540) 633-3940
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 44 Restaurants in Radford
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stopped here with a group of 14. They did their best to accomodate us. The beer was very good and the reuben that I had was very good. Service was fine. Others at the table all had positive things to say about the place. I read the other reviews, but we had good experience. TWe would go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    41
    28
    10
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comedy of errors”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Not a smooth running operation at all. Go for the view off the back deck or the beer, but don't have high expectations beyond those. I've been going there since it opened, but I won't be in a rush to go back. Mediocrity seems to be acceptable here despite the non-mediocre pricing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford,VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not All That”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very limited menu at lunch time. The items that were there, were way overpriced! We each got a 14oz Rib Eye that was $29 each. They had a "upgraded 14 oz. that was $38. It was very tender and tasted fine, but not that much better than anywhere else that has Rib Eyes. Onion rings were OK, but greasy. French Onion soup was aweful. Few onions and a big gooey glob of cheese in the bottom. Not good at all.The server keep our tea glasses filled and was pleasant. This was a celebration of our anniversary. It was our first and last visit here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location, terrible service, inconsistent food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I want to like this place. My family and friends want to support this place, because there are so few options in the area. The location is beautiful, the ambience and decor are lovely. The beer is very good, and they have a great bar with nice happy hour specials. That said, I will not be returning to this restaurant, nor will any of the dozen friends I brought with me last week. As part of a birthday celebration, we went to River Company hoping to have some drinks and food (from the bar). The bar was busy, and the competent, hard working bartender was working very hard to keep up with demand.

There was a nearly empty dining room and we were told that we couldn't sit in it because they couldn't accommodate us.Okay. We then offered to sit outside. We were told that we would have to move when a party with reservations showed up. We asked if we could just stand and have drinks downstairs, which was totally empty. The owner said that if we wanted to pay $1200 dollars an hour we could use the room. Well, we certainly weren't able to do that, but we were eager to spend money at their bar and restaurant, and it seems like it would have made sense to have your patrons spend money in what would otherwise have been an empty room. At this point we felt like they didn't want us there, and that we were begging to spend money in their establishment. We certainly understand how hectic the restaurant business can be, particularly when people are understaffed. The group we brought had more than 50 years of restaurant experience among us, so we certainly understand and are sympathetic customers. And in fact, that is exactly why the people in our group will not return to this establishment. As we were treated poorly by the manager and owner, we noticed that on the side of the half empty patio, there were tables and chairs stacked up in the corner. We would happily have sat in them and walked up to the bar to get our own drinks if they would have only let us.

As for the food, it is mediocre for the price. I also ended up with terrible stomach problems the entire next day after eating there. I don't know why. Overall, it was a terrible experience, and although my group was very gracious, every one of them said that they would not return to the River Company.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant!! Great Beer!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We always try to go to this restaurant when we are in Southwest Virginia. The food is always great and the beer is exceptional! This is a cool place to hang out and enjoy the views of Radford and the New River.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River CO Restaurant & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to River CO Restaurant & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River CO Restaurant & Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.