We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to step up a notch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia's at the Mill

Magnolia's at the Mill
198 North 21st Street, Purcellville, VA 20132
540.338.9800
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Magnolia's at the Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 34 restaurants in Purcellville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 23rd
woodbridge, va
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Need to step up a notch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Place has an amazing beer selection. The food is good but not great. Pricing would be extremely reasonable if the food was just a tad better. If you are in the area it is one of the best options out there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    94
    79
    27
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lovettsville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I made a reservation for 6 via Open Table which was effortless. Magnolia's called me an hour or so before me reservation to make certain they had it right. On a (rainy) Friday evening the place was packed but they had our table ready in a quieter place in the restaurant, so we there was no wait.
Our server was excellent as was the other staff. Our glasses were kept full and the delicious bread was plentiful. The food was excellent! The crab cake special was superb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great Ambience and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The restaurant is set in a refurbished mill which provides a great ambience with a wide variety of seating options - from a great outside patio that borders the W&O Trail to a fun bar area to a downstairs dinning area filled with old mill memorabilia. The upstairs 'overflow' dinning area does not have as good of an ambience as the downstairs area.

The menu is fresh with lots of options. The tomato smoke gouda soup is excellent. The dishes are fresh which can draw out the service, but that is fine as the food is worth the wait. Enjoy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were staying in Middleburg and were recommended to this restaurant by locals. They were definitely correct. The menu was wonderful especially considering where we were. The waitress was a delightful person. The meal of Salad Special, Beef Filet and Flounder topped with Crab was amazing. Who would have thought this restaurant would be in such a small town. This restaurant supports the local wine industry which I commend them for. Their receipt for dinner states at the bottom "If your dining experience was not a ten please let me know...Managing Partner." All restaurants should be so dedicated to their customers. Worth the trip to find this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gem in a little town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent weekend get away from DC and found this restaurant. Good quality food and great service, I must say. The mill itself adds up as dining experience. We had entrée salad, steak and bread pudding-yummy! Next time, we will try trios--3 types of local beer samples. Magnolia has pretty good selections of local beer and wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnolia's at the Mill also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Leesburg, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County

Been to Magnolia's at the Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia's at the Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.