We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a Virginia winery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsborough Vineyards

Hillsborough Vineyards
36716 Charles Town Pike, Purcellville, VA 20132
+1 540-668-6216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 29 things to do in Purcellville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hillsborough Vineyards is a small boutique winery nestled in the scenic hillside outside of Washington, D.C.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not bad for a Virginia winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Not bad for a Virginia winery. Nice views with music and good wine. The best in Loudon county.
Try the rosé.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    13
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
732 reviews
215 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Great Wines and Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Enjoyed tasting six wines inside, but that was just the precursor to our favorite part of the visit...enjoying the view from the covered patio while sipping wine and having some wonderful cheese. Serenity

While here, we met a new friend....Warren. He was here to celebrate his wife's birthday. Really enjoyed meeting him here in the wonderful setting.

Sipping wine and enjoying the beautiful view of the mountains and valley is a must-do-over!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and wine, horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the view is amazing. The Bloodstone wine was so great! But you don't go to a winery just for that, it's also about the experience. You could feel the tension in this place when you walked in. Everyone waiting at the bar to be served was getting frustrated. It was close to closing time and the woman behind the bar with dark brown hair, mid 40's was so rude. It's almost like she didn't want the business. Other customers I spoke to felt the same way. This woman needs to be let go immediately. I've never had such a negative customer service experience at a winery. Hopefully in future visits, if we make one to that winery, I will be waited on by someone more customer focused and friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing Wines with a Nice Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We loved every wine here, and they're co-located with a delicious Mediterranean cafe. The view is equally beautiful though you will have to cope with a good many bugs due to their garden setting.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ten years of great visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband & I have enjoyed visits here on a regular basis. We love their wines and belong to their wine club. We have enjoyed special tastings and a walking tour of the vineyard as well as a evening dinner event one summer. The family is friendly and gracious. The winemaker is so knowledgeable that he is sought out by other wineries. And, the view anytime of year is better than any in Napa! Enjoy a glass of wine and soak in the beauty of their old stone buildings and the Virginia scenery. A must see and taste Virginia winery.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough Vineyards also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Hillsborough Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillsborough Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.