We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsborough Vineyards

Hillsborough Vineyards
36716 Charles Town Pike, Purcellville, VA 20132
+1 540-668-6216
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 29 things to do in Purcellville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hillsborough Vineyards is a small boutique winery nestled in the scenic hillside outside of Washington, D.C.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Courteous and friendly server. Liked one of the wines so wife and I bought two glasses and a wedge of cheese to savor on the patio, sitting in the afternoon sun and enjoying the beautiful view.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    14
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great view, great wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hillsborough is one of my favorite vineyards in Virginia. The view of the rolling hills and vines are breathtaking. The wines are unique and delicious. When possible, try to go on an off day. You get the chance to talk to the staff about the wine maker and get much more indepth information about the wine and the winery. I also appreciate that the vineyard discourages large tour buses. It cuts down on the rowdy atmosphere that certain wineries have created. This is a must visit if you find yourself in Loudoun county.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A favorite stop when winery hopping any time of the year. I l love chilling on their patio while taking in a nice glass of wine and the beautiful VA scenery

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Amazing view from the vineyard. Wines are okay. We've done tastings here at the bar, but also had a tasting in the "dining" room. The pourer didn't stick around to talk about the wine, just put down a piece of paper in front of you with the explanation. Not very personal, and didn't find the hostess personable at all.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice views but that's about it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Did a tasting with my sister and did not enjoy the experience as our pourer was young, not professional and could not answer any of our questions about the wine. She did not once offer to go ask someone. We were suddenly crowded by a large group that came in and our pourer actually put this party's glasses around ours so we had people tending behind us and reaching between us to do the tasting. When we went to pay for our tastings she insisted she'd given us a bottle of wine and we had to stand there and explain that we'd never even walked away from the bar, lt alone got a bottle of wine, walked away, drank it and came back. She finally admitted she couldn't even remember what bottle she thought she gave us but that was they only reason they didn't insist we pay for a bottle. This was very disappointing as I'd driven past this place a number of times and had been looking forward to going for a while. I my go back again to give it a second chance but only with a group and I won't pay for a tasting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hillsborough Vineyards also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Hillsborough Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillsborough Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.