We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very favorable first-time experience at Grandale Farms Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandale Farm Restaurant

Grandale Farm Restaurant
14001 Harpers Ferry Rd, Purcellville, VA 20132
540-668-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Grandale Farm Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Purcellville
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
“Very favorable first-time experience at Grandale Farms Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We are planning to hold a very special event at the tasting room of Grandale Farms this fall. So we thought we'd come out for dinner recently to sample the cuisine. We were greeted by a very friendly hostess who was also our server for the meal. We decided NOT to try the four-course meal with wine pairings, although others around us did and were quite pleased. We opted instead to share an appetizer, salad, entree and dessert, which worked out beautifully for us as we were not that hungry. Each course was nicely presented on the plate and our server even saw to it that the courses were halved, with the exception of the Crab-stuffed Baked Avocado appetizer - a genuine treat! We had the argula salad with molasses vinaigrette dressing - wonderful! We followed that with the salmon which was perfectly baked with a nice crust of some sort atop creamy mashed potatoes. We finished off the meal with a flourless chocolate torte and a cup of Black Dog Coffee (to die for!). To accompany our meal, I chose a nice Pinot Grigio from their fairly extensive wine list that had just the right mixture of choices from different countries and local Virginia wines, all of which ranged in price from the expensive to reasonable. For the degree of preparation, flare, plate presentation, good taste and ambience of the restaurant, we thought the price was fair and we will be back, for sure. We are also confident, from our first experience, that an equal if not greater amount of attention will be paid to staging our special event this fall to which we look forward with great anticipation!! Thank you, Chef Author!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Should have kept driving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

As a long-time Loudoun resident, I have driven past Grandale for years. When convenience and curiosity finally prompted us to stop for dinner, we only wished we had kept going. The meal was simply awful. The restaurant was empty---the first sign of trouble--- and while the parking lot was full, it was full with only those who had driven into Loudoun to indulge in some locally sponsored wine tasting. The crab cakes were substandard by any reasonable measure and the vegetarian meal was framed by what could only be described as canned tomato sauce. While the Arugula Salad was fair, the squash, which should have been local and fresh, was sour and somewhat sickening. Our experience proved once again that most all of our local dining options are simply adequate at best. Do yourself a favor, drive to Dutch's Daughter in Frederick for a crab cake or run to Tuskies in Leesburg for lighter fare. Our experience at Grandale was anything except a decent meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandaleChef, Manager at Grandale Farm Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry that we were not given the chance to address your concerns while you were in the restaurant. Our ingredients are fresh and locally sourced from many of the farms in the Loudoun county area. We would have welcomed immediate feedback so that we could have made your experience a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, VA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We just returned from a much anticipated visit to Grandale in celebration of Father's Day. We had 11 people in our party and were greeted with a cheerful woman and had a wonderful waiter. My sons (ages 7 and 10) accompanied us. First, let me say our reservation was at 1:30pm and the restaurant was not crowded (empty tables inside and out). We waited until 2:45pm for our meals to arrive but were still looking forward to the fresh food as stated by other patrons. My sons ordered the pasta from their children's menu and honestly when it arrived it was one layer thick, probably 5-10 strands of fettuccini arranged in a circular pattern on a plate. We were shocked and by the time the waiter placed the rest of the dinners on the table my boys were done. This tiny portion of pasta costs $7. We actually complained to the waiter who mentioned that other patrons have expressed this same problem. He then went to the kitchen and we could see him attempting to negotiate a solution for us. He came out and offered salads for our kids, really? salads? What they really wanted was more pasta but I guess they couldn't spare the 25 cents worth of pasta. I had the salmon, pretty dry and tasteless. My father in law had the lamb chops, he said they were fair. The crab cakes were pretty good but the fingerling potatos were overcooked and hard as rocks. Two people in our party ordered this and had the same experience. The grass fed beef was a bit chewy and needs some seasoning. I am relaying the comments of people in our group. I completely concur with an earlier reviewer that said for the money this restaurant can not compete with other Loudoun fine dining establishments. I doubt we will be returning to Grandale but hopefully this was an off day for the restaurant. The setting is beautiful, the grounds are spectacular and it would be fun to experience a wine tasting there as well. Our comments were relayed to the waiter and manager there today and they stated they had heard similar complaints from other patrons and would consult with the head chef. Hopefully he will listen to his customers and his staff! A big let-down and expensive mistake for fathers day....

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grandale Farm Restaurant, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, it is a crucial tool for our success. My only comment is on the seating, we were completely full on Fathers Day! We have equal inside and outside seating, so we have to be prepared to move all our guests inside incase of unfavorable weather. This usually gives the impression of us not being booked. By chance, if the weather is great and both areas are open, we can take Walk In Customer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cantimitaeo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Very Nice Restaurant Near Harpers Ferry WV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Had a very nice dinner recently at the Grandale Farm Restaurant in Purcellville, VA which is very near Harpers Ferry WV.
The farm is beautiful, the building that houses the restaurant is modest and the dinner was very, very good. There is also a good wine list.
The meals were very fresh and delicious and the French Rose we had was super.
Not an inexpensive place but worth it for a special meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our group of four loved the various apps (salads and soups) and entrees (meat and vegetarian) we tried. The dining room is beautiful, and the atmosphere is very relaxing. The restaurant was concerned that our food took too long to arrive, but we thought the slower service allowed us to enjoy our drinks and conversation. (It really wasn't a long wait- we expect finer dining to take time- they're not microwaving your lamb or steak!)

They comped our drinks and desserts without being asked, as a way to make up for what they said was slow service. But worth the visit, and worth returning if we get back there for another vacation.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandale Farm Restaurant also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Grandale Farm Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grandale Farm Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.