We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good VA Wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goose Creek Farm and Winery - Otium Cellars

Goose Creek Farm and Winery - Otium Cellars
18050 Tranquility Road, Purcellville, VA
(1) 540 338 2027
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 Activities in Purcellville
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good VA Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We came to Otium with a large group (11 people) and made reservations ahead of time. They were ready for us when we arrived and we had a very nice time. They made us feel welcomed and the wine was excellent. I really liked there reds (malbec and something else with a german name that I can't pronounce).

This is a no frills winery, it's not the prettiest place I've been to but it was definetly worth the trip for the wines alone. We went to three wineries on our tour and this was by far the best.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We stop there whenever we can”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Some of the wines are great and others not so much. Rating a vineyard on how their wines taste is very subjective. It could be that my tastes are very different from everyone else in the county. All I can really judge is the experience I had when going for a tasting. Was it a nice place? Was the staff attentive? A winery should be judged on a scale from "I am going to come here every weekend!" down to "How is this place still in business?" Otium Cellars is good enough to go back to, but not every weekend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Otium Cellars - Bold & Beautiful Wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited Otium Cellars for the first time in March 2013. I've been to 80+ VA wineries, and Otium is now one of my favorites. They have 3 whites for tasting and many more reds. Being a bold red drinker, I was very impressed! Tasting was $10, and wines were ~20-35...some may be less.

I was so excited to find a VA Pinot Noir. Unfortunately, their first batch will also be their last. Visit now before their deliciously earthy Pinot Noir bids its farewell! They had other varietals that you just don't see in VA...and they're delicious: Blaurfranisch, Dornfelder, Pinot Noir. Located in a quiet part of Purcellville, they have a quaint and serene tasting room perfect for enjoying one of their many tasty bottles.

I visited 3 other vineyards that day, and was so upset that I didn't just stay at Otium instead - no one else compared! I will be coming back soon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“New Winery, and it shows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I decided to skip a tasting and just sit and have a glass. Wary of my budget I opted for the 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon which was over a dollar less than the 2011. The steward suggested I go for the 2011. I didn't and I regretted it. The 2010 was okay. I paid for it, I drank it but it was disappointing. It wasn’t like I hadn’t been warned so that’s on me.

The service was friendly and accommodating but the glasses the wine was served in were awkward and I was very glad it was only my first glass or I could see it easily being wasted.
This winery is beautiful and shows great potential once they get things "tweaked". I think I will wait to go back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice new winery waiting with a variety of wines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It's a little hard to find but it is worth the trip. It's located on a farm with horses. Some of the wines are German. They also have a nice malbec. They are fantastic. They have seating and wonderful foods to enjoy as you sip a bottle of wine. It is a wooden tasting room with a fireplace to satisfy that rustic appeal. We ended up buying 2 bottles of the German wines and took some eggplant dip to go. The dip is wonderful and is all eggplant!
Our pourer (Max) took off the price of one of our tastings since we bought 2 bottles. We frequent the wineries in the area and this is one we will definitely return to.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goose Creek Farm and Winery - Otium Cellars also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Goose Creek Farm and Winery - Otium Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goose Creek Farm and Winery - Otium Cellars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.