We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid-back, friendly, limited menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boodacades BBQ Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Boodacades BBQ Restaurant
251 N 21st St, Purcellville, VA 20132-3027
540-338-1944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: BBQ Restaurant featuring pulled pork (North Carolina style and plain) as well as pulled chicken. Wings and Nachos as appetizers. Six different sauces. Kid's meals. 12 Beers on Draft, featuring local wines. Kid's Corner featuring floor to ceiling chalkboards, padded flooring and HDTV for the kids. Four other HDTVs show college games on Saturday and all the DirecTv Sunday Ticket games.
Restaurant details
Description: BBQ Restaurant featuring pulled pork (North Carolina style and plain) as well as pulled chicken. Wings and Nachos as appetizers. Six different sauces. Kid's meals. 12 Beers on Draft, featuring local wines. Kid's Corner featuring floor to ceiling chalkboards, padded flooring and HDTV for the kids. Four other HDTVs show college games on Saturday and all the DirecTv Sunday Ticket games.
Hamilton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Laid-back, friendly, limited menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Boodacades is a nice place if you're looking for barbecue or ribs. The food is tasty and well-prepared, you can have North Carolina style or plain, they have quite a few different kinds of sauces, the service is friendly, and the prices are reasonable. *BUT* - that's all there is. It's a barbecue & ribs restaurant only, so bear that in mind before you go. I also suspect that it may be a little noisy for dinner since the layout, although functional, looks pretty much like a "fast-food" place more than a true sit-down restaurant. You have to order at the cash register and pick up the food at a separate window (no table service at all) but it's a good place for a barbeque lunch.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    1
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“You won't leave hungry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

One thing I enjoy about Boodacades is that it seems like every time I stop by, something is new - new menu items, new and unusual beers on tap, new furniture. That's typical for a small family owned business like this and it makes it really special. I looked forward to the opening of Boodacades for a long time as they are almost within walking distance of home - their smoker is definitely within smelling distance on a good night. I wanted to wait to review until we had sampled several times and I’m happy to say that this is a place worth visiting again and again. They were rough around the edges when they first opened, but have steadily and continuously improved to fire on all cylinders (or would that be charcoal briquettes?). The ribs and NC-style pork are our favorites. The pork is also available without the NC sauce so you can enjoy it "naked" or topped with one of half a dozen or so different sauces. The ribs are dry style ribs – parboiled I suspect, rubbed, and smoked. They are great just like that - fall off the bone tender - but we like to sample them with the various sauces too. One warning - they only prepare so many racks of ribs each night so you need to get there early; we've missed out a couple times when we arrived later in the evening. The baked beans are spectacular – sweet and spicy - they make the more recent menu addition of desserts somewhat unnecessary in my opinion but welcome nonetheless. I've been too full to try the desserts, but they sound great (Irish Stout Cheesecake anyone?). The smoked wings have become a signature item. The rub is just right and they really absorb the smoke flavor making them taste unlike any deep fried wings out there (healthier too!). They are exceptionally good. I enjoy them straight up, but again there are sauces available if you prefer. The seating was recently upgraded from traditional bbq joint picnic tables to very nice, comfortable chairs and tables. It’s pretty amazing how that changes the vibe of the place (in a good way). They still have picnic tables for outdoor eating which makes sense. The dining room is ringed with large televisions for sporting events. As I mentioned, they have continued to add new menu items - the baked beans, smoked wings, desserts, and "platter" (two meat choices and two sides for under $13) have been added since the original opening and they have expanded their lineup of sauces. Is there room for more improvement? Sure – for example, I think they want to put in different (i.e., less bright, non-fluorescent) lighting at some point. And with the addition of dessert they might want to consider having some decent coffee available too. Overall, it's a fantastic addition to the P-ville dining scene and given their continuous improvement over such a short period of time to date, I expect them to get better and better.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I didn't think a BBQ joint could be so bad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

First warning sign....fake iced tea. You know, the kind that comes out of a dispenser that isn't actually brewed. What kind of BBQ joint doesn't have freshly brewed tea? Second warning sign....no pickles, onions or other accoutrements for your sandwich. Maybe it's a Texas thing to offer traditional toppings for a BBQ sandwich. What about those folks who don't care for coleslaw on their pulled pork? Third warning sign...."are your ribs wet or dry?" Answer, "dry." "You can get sauce over there." The "sauce station" by the way had about a half dozen different sauces. How many sauces does it take to cover up poor BBQ? When the ribs arrived they were clearly not made using the traditional "dry" method, but cooked in sauce. However, they were dry as the cashier told me they would be. Dry as a bone. Falling off the bone to be fair, but dry and flavorless. Did anyone season them before they went into that fancy smoker? I doubt it. Thank goodness for the half-a-dozen sauces.

The sides were dreadful. The mac and cheese had a distinct pseudo-cheese flavor and unpleasant aftertaste (powdered cheese?). The beans were sweet....that's all I can remember. They also appeared to be white, like a great northern bean, instead of the traditional pinto. Maybe they were on sale. Anyway, the icing on the proverbial cake was watching an employee walk out the door to the smoker carrying a whole tray of raw chickens. He opened the door with a gloved hand leaving a smear of BBQ'd raw chicken juice on the handle that I had to carefully negotiate in order to throw my plate away. No one bothered asking how our experience was, not even the cashier who walked past me twice on her way to have a smoke in the smoker. How ironic. Here's the real irony: fancy smoker doesn't equal good BBQ. Tasty sauces, even six of them, does not equal good BBQ. Even good BBQ falls flat without good, quality sides. Nice try, but Boodacades totally misses each mark.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Great BBQ and a new look. Easy, low key, place to bring the kids, watch a game or hang out at the Bar. Great place to stop if you're in the area. Will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

This is a classic diamond in the rough! It is not the easiest place to find but it is well worth the visit. Have had the ribs and the wings. Best wings i have ever had! And since I am a beer snob, I have to say that this place has amazing beers. Just a good all around place to take the family and friends, eat , drink and be merry.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boodacades BBQ Restaurant also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boodacades BBQ Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.