We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop on the Wine Trail!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Gate Vineyard

North Gate Vineyard
16031 Hillsboro Road, Purcellville, VA 20132
540 668-6248
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 18 activities in Purcellville
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stop on the Wine Trail!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very enjoyable winery! Go with the girlfriends, or come with your husband! Its a great treat. The wines at North Gate are some of the Best Virginia Wines I have tasted. Reds are my favorite! But don't just come in for a wine taste... try the hot baguette & asiago cheese or some nice cheddar & add some fig spread - yum! Can it get better? YES! save room for dessert...the chocolates are delish & there is a nice variety to choose from ...dont leave without trying the chocolate! Chocolate & Red wine, (doesnt' get any better)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great facility, great wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Definitely worth the trip. Facility is nicely decorated, casual and easy to get to (smooth road). Wines are good. Food choices are available. I found a white I liked; husband found a red he liked! Will definitely go back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Wines, Nice Tasting Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My husband and I had a really nice experience at North Gate last weekend. We tasted all of their wines, talked with one of the owners in depth about their place, and truly enjoyed our time there. The wines were very good. The tasting room was nice and not crowded, but it echoes a lot. I know that it is a little newer, so hopefully over time, they'll add some outdoor areas and some greenery inside to reduce the echo.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

This winery has been open for just about a year. The wines are pretty good and the tasting room is inviting and elegant. A good winery to go in cold or rainy weather.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Lovely tasting room, good wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Visited the winery with friends on a Saturday & was pleasantly surprised by the wines and the lovely decor of the building. The 2010 Petit Verdot was my favorite.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Gate Vineyard also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to North Gate Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Gate Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.