We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purcellville Family Restaurant

Purcellville Family Restaurant
110 W Main St, Purcellville, VA 20132-3023
540-338-0400
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Purcellville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old School Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've been to the P-ville Family Restaurant 3 or 4 times since moving nearby. Love the old school breakfast! Prices are really fair. It can get crowded on weekend mornings. Waitresses are old fashioned grizzled veterans – often gruff, but hard-working. I havent tried lunch or dinner yet

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BoxCarWillie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lovettsville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Home Cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our favorite place to go for a nice, home-cooked meal. Portions are more than generous. The staff is great, my iced tea glass never goes empty. Everything is delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjk363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Old style family restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Recognizing that this is an old style Americana family restaurant, you will do well to not look at the amount of food and cruft on the floor, or judge the artwork on the walls. Instead, focus on those things that you know they will likely do well: breakfasts, sandwiches, and desserts. The BLT was exactly as it should have been. Their meringue pies were outstanding. The grilled ham and cheese was perfectly gooey and buttery. The service was perfectly acceptable. Not rude, nor overly familiar. Just right.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmers U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food reminds me of Grandma, staff does NOT!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I went for breakfast on a Saturday morning and I was impressed that they were so busy, I thought that said something about their food/service. We went in, picked a table to sit at, and waited. A grumpy-looking server came up with no smile, said nothing, placed the menus in front of us and kind of tossed the rolled up silverware onto the table, then stormed off. I work in guest services so as she walked off I couldn't help but say out loud, "oh my gosh, what was that?" My husband then asks what I expected... I don't know, maybe a smile or pleasant conversation. After we got our food, no one ever came back and I had to eventually go to the counter without our ticket where the cashier just asked what we got and while ringing me up, began to complain to one of the servers about the customer she had just rang up.
I just wanted a little professionalism and friendliness, I felt that a place like this would value good old-fashioned service... but they did not. The service was so bad that the fact that the food was good doesn't matter, I will not go back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foobear4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of food for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Basic, good, old style family restaurant. Plenty to eat for a reasonable amount of money. Definitely not great ambience, but friendly staff and good food ameliorate that.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank welsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purcellville Family Restaurant also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Purcellville Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing