We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average food, lousy service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mosby's Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mosby's Grill
1020 E. Main St., Purcellville, VA 20132
540-338-0002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“average food, lousy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've lived in Purcellvile for 17 years and rarely go to Mosby's. We decided to give it a shot tonight and try it. We were reminded why we never go. They had a buy one get one free burger special (BOGO burgers), which was a good deal, but the bartender/waitress didn't seem to be interested in serving. Maybe because the place was COMPLETELY EMPTY except for us and one other table, so whats the rush, right? She didn't provide water, (I guess that's extra) and came twice, to deliver the beer and to deliver the food. I had to track her down to get the check. Burgers were average but the atmosphere was so awful we had to get out ASAP. Never again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    3
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purcellville, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were expecting a little more as we walked in. The entrance belies the country diner that lies within. We seated ourselves and we eventually noticed by the waitress. We browsed the menu and decided on what we would consider our harder to mess up choices, a steak an a burger. We also elected to get a glass each of the listed Zinfandel. Our server brought out two glasses of white Zinfandel and then returned a short time later with our meals. The food was prepared as we ordered and was plentiful. The steak was not the best cut of beef but was still flavorful. The burger was a typical burger and nothing to brag about or shame.
Overall, the meal was average though a little overpriced. The service was nothing special and could easily be judged as either a plus because we weren't hounded or a minus because we were practically ignored. I'm sure that if you are a regular the atmosphere is much more apealling.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst place in Purcellville”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband went here for our date night. Very dirty place. One waitress was clapping and singing randomly and the other was unclean and kept the bill book in the back of her waistband of her pants (so unsanitary). Food was small and expensive. I could've gone to The Mill for what I paid for lousy food.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Va
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“just say no to "deep fried rock fish filets"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

first time here. one other table taken. waitress wasn't familiar with the beer selection, but that is pretty much par. NO VIRGINA WINES ON THE MENU, which is really odd given the selection in the area.

To cut to the chase, we had the fish and chips, which is further described as above. Overpriced at $15, but not a biggie. The biggie was four fish sticks. Have seen them described in other reviews as Costco like, but that would be generous. Not a foul place, but certainly overpriced given the other choices in Purcellville.

Waitress seemed unsurprised at our opinion of the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Hill, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The "Cheers" of Purcellville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I go here about once a week. We love the food and we love the people that work here and also frequent the establishment. We always have fun! They have several great nightly specials and we've taken advantage of them all at one time or another. Karaoke on Friday nights can be a lot of fun.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosby's Grill also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosby's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.