We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tense, even for a married couple” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Middle Grove Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Purcellville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Middle Grove Inn
37175 Jeb Stuart Rd, Purcellville, VA 20132   |  
Hotel amenities
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A bit tense, even for a married couple”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We are a married couple and spent our recent anniversary weekend at this B&B for a getaway and a weekend of wine tasting. Though we are married and conforming to their "married couples only" policy, we still felt uncomfortable in this rigid environment of extreme religiosity. Also, we have small children and it is very hard for us to get away, thus we expect to be able to sleep in! on the rare occasion that we have a weekend away. Bob and Vicki are pretty strict about the breakfast schedule and when asked if we could come down at 10:00 we were made to feel that we were greatly inconveniencing them. The next morning they insisted that we be down to breakfast at 9:00. Breakfasts were fine, nothing special. The rooms were very nice and very clean but don't count on feeling relaxed at this B&B. We will not be back.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Vickie, the innkeeper, is welcoming and graciously accommodated our dietary restrictions. The breakfasts were great.

The room was pleasant and very clean. Middle Grove Inn is out in the country, so we couldn't walk to anything, but the area is quiet, restful, and beautiful. The beds are great, so between the quiet and the beds, we slept very well.

The innkeepers must be experienced travelers because our room included a hair dryer, an iron, robes and flip flops to wear to their pool -- everything one would expect in a good hotel room except a TV. There are several common rooms, some with TVs in them, a library from which we could borrow books and a laptop, so we could easily get directions to various destinations, or check email.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Marilyn Room. It's the only one with a king size bed as well as a day bed. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My husband and I visited Vicki and Bob Moore's Middle Grove Inn for a 2 nite getaway for our second anniversary and a visit to some of the local wineries. The inn is lovely--very warm and inviting--only to be exceeded by the warmth and kindness of the host and hostess. A tour of the large home made evident to us the love and care that the Moore's have poured into the decor of each room. The location is lovely--I awoke to 3 deer frolicking on the expansive front lawn--as well as ideal for many types of activities especially if you enjoy winery-hopping, shopping and trying out some of the great local eateries. As for those who find the Moore's policies offensive, I say this: If you don't like it, stay elsewhere. Rather than making offensive, hurtful and untrue comments, simply click off the site and move on. For those of you considering a visit to Loudon County this charming inn is an excellent value that shouldn't be overlooked!

Room Tip: The Glorianna suite is just lovely...beautiful morning sun, comfy bed, quiet and very private....a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

These people are scary. Almost a christian cult! Bibles everywhere, very hateful people. Be aware! Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Middle Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Grove Inn

Address: 37175 Jeb Stuart Rd, Purcellville, VA 20132
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Purcellville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Purcellville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middle Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Middle Grove Inn to your Saves list