We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Hills Vineyard

Sunset Hills Vineyard
38295 Fremont Overlook Lane, Purcellville, VA 20132
20132 540 882 4560
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 activities in Purcellville
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice place, good wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had light lunch here. The place is beautiful and the people there are great. The wine is good and what more cn you ask?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Need for bug control and cheaper wine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, it's too commercial. Too many families, too many dogs, more of a picnic site than a winery. The bugs and gnats were horrific.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Wine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I attended a Premier Tasting and were greatly impressed with the wines and the commitment to quality at this vineyard. There honestly was not a single wine that we tasted that we would not have enjoyed taking home. Service by the staff was excellent and the owner's description of the wines was most enjoyable. We had been to several other wineries in the area and this one was by far our favorite. We will be back to further explore the grounds and to enjoy another tasting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super Commercial”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you are looking for a down home atmosphere, pass on this winery. We experienced many awesome wineries in the area with great stories to share. However, Sunset Hills didn't feel the need to share their story because they were far too busy. Save your time and money and visit Doukenie, Loudoun Valley, North Gate, or Crushed Cellar. All well worth your time!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Set Up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The winery property is set amongst renovated old farm buildings snuggled between some vineyards. Can't get a more winery atmosphere then this. The wines were good too :) They allow picinic baskets in areas outside of the buildings as long as you buy some wine.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Hills Vineyard also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to Sunset Hills Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Hills Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sunset Hills Vineyard to your Saves list