We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pseudo-Mexican” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Plus

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Rancho Plus
101 South Maple Avenue # C, Purcellville, VA 20132
(540) 338-7640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 40 Restaurants in Purcellville
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pseudo-Mexican”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place is a below-average Tex-Mex Restaurant. One example of the poor quality of the cuisine is that they use shredded Velveta cheese in lieu of mexican-style or even cheddar cheese.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCommonwealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
NorthernVirginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I had to try it twice to make sure. I can now say conclusively: this is really bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Bland food, over priced, completely inflexiable on the menu. I love Mexican food and will usually find good in about any small restaurant. But just not this one. I want to support local businesses, but this place is just over priced, has a "professional" but entirely unfriendly staff and food that is at best, not going to hurt you. Look elsewhere.

Barryville has some good places, as does Leesburg. Just skip Purcellville for Mexican. Bummer.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RichFromVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

The food is fresh & tasty & the service is good. Can't complain for a local place. Have tried a number of items on the menu & never been disappointed. I like the California Burrito the best served with rice & beans. Also, the Sopapillas - if you have room, are very good for dessert. My older son loves the bean tacos, my younger son is a bit of a gringo & usually gets a hot dog & fries & the fries are the best in town :)

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BethAnnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our usual Cantina in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We live nearby since quite some year years and we have been at El Rancho several times. We have also ordered take-away many times. We like the service and the food is good and we always have leftovers as - for us - the size of the servings are pretty huge. We also like their fries that are the best in town. Their fajitas are excellent and for those not found of Tex-Mex, the Pork BBQ dinner is also very good. El Rancho is for us the Cantina in town: good, easy, unpretentious and affordable.

Helpful?
Thank mark5903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpirced, lacking in taste.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Not worth it - go to beryville, or sterling. Way overpriced for the quality.

Helpful?
1 Thank meldabs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho Plus also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to El Rancho Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing