We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pseudo-Mexican” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Plus

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Rancho Plus
101 South Maple Avenue # C, Purcellville, VA 20132
(540) 338-7640
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 35 Restaurants in Purcellville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Leesburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pseudo-Mexican”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This place is a below-average Tex-Mex Restaurant. One example of the poor quality of the cuisine is that they use shredded Velveta cheese in lieu of mexican-style or even cheddar cheese.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NorthernVirginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I had to try it twice to make sure. I can now say conclusively: this is really bad.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Bland food, over priced, completely inflexiable on the menu. I love Mexican food and will usually find good in about any small restaurant. But just not this one. I want to support local businesses, but this place is just over priced, has a "professional" but entirely unfriendly staff and food that is at best, not going to hurt you. Look elsewhere.

Barryville has some good places, as does Leesburg. Just skip Purcellville for Mexican. Bummer.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

The food is fresh & tasty & the service is good. Can't complain for a local place. Have tried a number of items on the menu & never been disappointed. I like the California Burrito the best served with rice & beans. Also, the Sopapillas - if you have room, are very good for dessert. My older son loves the bean tacos, my younger son is a bit of a gringo & usually gets a hot dog & fries & the fries are the best in town :)

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our usual Cantina in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

We live nearby since quite some year years and we have been at El Rancho several times. We have also ordered take-away many times. We like the service and the food is good and we always have leftovers as - for us - the size of the servings are pretty huge. We also like their fries that are the best in town. Their fajitas are excellent and for those not found of Tex-Mex, the Pork BBQ dinner is also very good. El Rancho is for us the Cantina in town: good, easy, unpretentious and affordable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpirced, lacking in taste.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Not worth it - go to beryville, or sterling. Way overpriced for the quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rancho Plus also viewed

Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 
Purcellville, Loudoun County
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to El Rancho Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Plus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.