We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 Dinwiddie Street, Portsmouth, VA 23704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Portsmouth
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ok hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is an older hotel but the rooms are nice although they should upgrade the televisions. Bed was unusually comfortable. The continental breakfast is not worth eating. go around the corner and have a real meal. Coffee in lobby was excellent.

My wife left a special pillow in the room and staff was not very good about getting it back to her. We finally did but it took a relatively long time.

All in all, the location makes up for whatever shortcomings the hotel has.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie_Hotel_506, Manager at The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review,
We Appreciate your good comments on bed and the rooms,
we will try to improve our Breakfast offering.
Thanks again, Hope to see you again for your next visit.

with warm regards,
The Management
Governor Dinwiddie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    15
    13
    3
See reviews for
19
25
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The Dinwiddie is a quaint historic hotel with lots of open space in the rooms. The floor plans are nice. Drawbacks: The gym is very small but okay if it's only one or two people working out. The walls are thin so you may hear outside noises which is why I'm sure it's rumored the hotel is haunted.

The kitchenette facilities are well-equipped. They do not serve breakfast so bringing along some goodies to prepare in your room would be a great idea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the gym and elevators to reduce your exposure to noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie_Hotel_506, Manager at The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Madam
Thank you for the good review,
We Appreciate your good comments!
Thanks again, Hope to see you to see you again soon..

with warm regards,
The Management
Governor Dinwiddie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Portsmouth has a dearth of decent affordable hotels, the choice is between very expensive waterfront hotels or sleazy strip motels. That makes this the best option under the circumstances. I've rated it average as it really isn't special. I have a hard time thinking of something as historic when it's only a few years older than me. The rooms are average, room lighting is poor, beds are comfortable and it is clean. It is within walking distance of good restaurants which is a plus as parking can be a problem - hotel has its own outdoor parking lot and they give you a dated dashboard pass (one car per room which can be a problem if you are sharing with someone who drives in separately). No breakfast service although the desk clerk recommended the place next door. I didn't try it as I had an early departure and grabbed coffee and yogurt at the McD's just a few blocks away on my way out. There is free Wifi. In future, I wouldn't stay in Portsmouth, I'd stay out in Suffolk or Chesapeake where there are more choices.

Room Tip: Be aware that the room lighting is poor - even in the corner room that I had which had two windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie_Hotel_506, Manager at The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for the review,
We Appreciate your good comments and we are in the process of resolving the dim light issue.
Thanks again, Hope to see you again for your next visit.

with warm regards,
The Management
Governor Dinwiddie Hotel,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel comes up on the GPS (a few years old) as something else. It is a 1945 structure so has all the refinement and problems of a grand old hotel. We had a 7th floor room with very high ceilings and large space. It was terrific. The hotel has no real amenities. Breakfast is provided in a to-go bag - granola bar, Sunny D and packaged muffin. Downtown Portsmouth is terrific though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie_Hotel_506, Manager at The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Madam,
Thanks for the review,
We Appreciate your good comments and we are in process trying to upgrade our breakfast service..Thanks again, Hope to see you again soon for your next visit.

with warm regards,
The Management
Governor Dinwiddie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Great cozy hotel, good location. Enjoyed our stay...just make sure to check out on time because they will start calling your room!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie_Hotel_506, Manager at The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thanks for the review,
We Appreciate your good comments and we are in process of making changes to the way we find out if people would like to stay another day or are leaving us. We want to be able to give our in house guests the first opportunity to stay in the same room. This is very important when we are in the busy season as there are a lot of reservations,and. we want our in house guests to have top priority!
Still we are sorry for inconvenience to you and your family.

Thanks again, Hope to see you again for your next visit.

with warm regards,
The Management
Governor Dinwiddie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

On the way from Philadelphia to Ocracoke, NC we thought we would stop off somewhere. Portsmouth, VA was a place we had never visited. And...we prefer older, more historic, down-town hotels. Reviews for the Governor Dinwiddie Hotel seemed a bit mixed, but we gave it a try. Nice property. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms a bit dated but nicely appointed and very clean - actually better than most. Within walking distance of many restaurants (we recommend Still - a little hidden but very much worth looking for). If you are a fan of other-than-cookie-cutter chain hotels - those with a good bit of charm - don't pass up the opportunity to stay here,

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a suite if you are a Choice traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie_Hotel_506, Manager at The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Hi Friends,
We Are Glad you stayed too! We try very hard to make our guests feel at home here. Thank you for the nice review and we look forward to seeing you again! As always we will strive to make your stay comfortable and cozy. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a little gem in the middle of downtown Portsmouth. Came in for the weekend with friends for a concert at the ntelos wireless pavillion. Hotel very convienently located to venue. Actually in walking distance if you don't mind walking about 1/2 mile. Hotel was very cute and charming. Rooms were nice and big and included refrig, microwave, coffee maker; some even had a two burner stove. Price was great, parking was free, multiple restaurants on same block. The mexican place downstairs was good. Rooms were nice and clean and cool. Would def stay here again if in town. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Suites are same price as standard rooms, so request a suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinwiddie_Hotel_506, Manager at The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Friend,
Thank you so much for the review on your stay. We try to make every guest feel at home. Concert season will be coming again soon, we hope you'll be back to visit us again.

Thanks again!

Warm regards,
The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites

Address: 506 Dinwiddie Street, Portsmouth, VA 23704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel And Suites
The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel Portsmouth
Governor Dinwiddie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Governor Dinwiddie Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.