We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lobscouser Restaurant

Lobscouser Restaurant
337 High St, Portsmouth, VA 23704-3706
757-397-2728
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 168 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lynchburg,VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had planned to attend a popular seafood restaurant during our Columbus day weekend trip to Va beach. Thankfully, that restaurant wasnt going to open until late afternoon. We happened upon this restaurant by accident. Initially, the decor did not impress. I am glad that we did not leave...our lunch seafood platter consisted of grilled shrimp, flounder, scallops and a wonderful crab cake. The twice baked potatoes and hushpuppies were to die for! All of this was a mere $9.99!! We decided to try a "small" dessert. The strawberry shortcake and hot fudge sundaes were awesome, not small and cost less than $3! I agree that the waitress wasn't Miss Cogeniality, but the food was great ! I will visit anytime I am in t he area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    30
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm food, chilly atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Was excited to visit a highly recommended restaurant in my childhood town while visiting the area. Arrived a little early, the owner peeked out the window and finally unlocked the door a few minutes early. However, she did not open the door for me nor did she welcome me once I came inside. Our server was stone faced, lacked a sense of humor and seemed like she didn't want to wait on us. this surprised me because she was a young woman and they are usually very friendly. I tried making small talk with her, but it seemed to only annoy her. I purposely watched her and the owner's interaction with other patrons and did not witness the same lack of service that I was getting. The food was just ok. Still can not understand why local family member like this place. Upon leaving, I did ask a few other patrons their opinion regarding the lack of friendliness of the waitress and owner and was told, it's probably because they had not seen me there before. Imagine that!!! Well they won't have to worry about getting to know this face as it won't be visiting there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Server”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The place is old and musty. The booth chairs sticky. Server did not get our order right ...like missed the appetizer altogether. The salmon was not fresh and he did not bother to check if things were ok until we were almost done so we did not even bother ask for the missed order. All we got was "so do you want me to put the order in". no thank you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice place gor lunch if you are in Portsmouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Had the blacken talapia sweet potato fries with cream of broccoli soup. For less than $10 lunch in a place like that is not bad. My server was on point forgot her name but other severs look like they were having a bad day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food good service good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

our second visit and it was great,terrific waiter and food delicious and reasonable priced.gumbo, crabs cakes and great dessert all yummy

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobscouser Restaurant also viewed

 
Portsmouth, VA
 

Been to Lobscouser Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lobscouser Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.