We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I look for reasons to return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Theater

Commodore Theater
421 High Street, Portsmouth, VA 23704-3621
(757) 393-6962
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
1 review
“I look for reasons to return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you're in the area or know of someone you'd like to impress, this is a MUST visit place. Classy, friendly, old fashion and it even has a section in front set up like an old elegant dining room. Not, hungry? No problem there is a section in the balcony for movie watching. The dining area quietens down as the movie begins and the servers wearing black try never to block your view. I always go for the food which is a little fast food type for me but I love their salads.If you are anywhere near this Theater dining experience and don't go, you will kick yourself later as word spreads about this original old theater that has been restored with a lot of the past untouched. Casual dress or dress it up or wear your travel clothes. I promise you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Commodore is a great place to see action movies because of the huge screen and awesome sound system. There is balconey seating and lower seating at tables. Sit in the balconey. The quality of the food downstairs has declined while prices have increased.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Love the theater, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

the food could be better.
I think the theater is beautiful and I adore it,
Owners, please upgrade the food!!!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

First time at Commodore Theater- what a blast. I watched Les Miserables, what a fantastic way to see this movie. To see a show here is cheaper ($7/ticket) than most cinemas plus it is an actual experince. It was built in 1945 and has been restored to perfection. If you have the opportunity to go, it is totally worth it! The food was good but a little pricy. I definitely recommend- can not wait to return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Too Many Rules to be Fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

You cannot buy a ticket in advance, you can only buy tickets on the day of the show, You can only do this and only do that. And don't do this, etc. A big hassle. Put up with all of that and it's a good evening,

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commodore Theater also viewed

 

Been to Commodore Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.