We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway from the hectic Holidays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B to your Saves list
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Maryland
2 reviews
“Fantastic getaway from the hectic Holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Inn At Tabbs Creek a few days ago - we loved the peacefulness, not to mention the attention to detail we were shown by Greg, Lori and David. They were the best! I really appreciated how they made our stay one we will not soon forget. This was our first time staying at a B&B and it was just perfect. Loved and enjoyed every minute of it. The chef was wonderful who prepared a fresh, tasty and abundant breakfast. The Captains room was fantastic and we enjoyed watching the birds outside of our window. The Inn keepers showed us a fantastic winter walk near a nature preserve where we saw two Bald Eagles gliding in the air above. What a joy it was to return back to the Inn with a gourmet selection of hot tea which warmed us up and prepared us for another great nights sleep. What a way to spend some of the Holidays. Thanks again and we will surely return in the Spring!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
217
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

My wife and I recently spent a wonderful three days snowed in at Greg and Lori's bed and breakfast. The rooms all have spectacular water views and the hospitality shown by the couple made the stay a truly memorable one.The birding was very entertaining even for experienced birders. The food was very high quality. We will return there for sure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

My husband and I just spent an incredibly relaxing weekend at this beautiful B & B. We couldn't have asked for more hospitality, better cooking or more incredible views. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

If you are thinking about a small intimate wedding consider The Inn at Tabbs Creek. Our daughter chose The Inn for her wedding and the experience was wonderful. The setting is natural, peaceful, and beautiful. Greg and Lori, the owners and hosts, were attentive and gracious. They shared their home and allowed you just the right amount of privacy. They were helpful with planning ideas and provided assistance when needed. The delicious food, breakfasts, appetizers, to a wedding dinner, was enjoyed by the families with a lovely view of natural Virginia. This special event was made even more memorable at this very special family-run bed and breakfast. Our daughter may have only one wedding but everyone there agreed that return visits are a must! Thank you Greg and Lori.
Ellen and Scott Glassgow

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Greg and Lori have transformed their secluded property into a gracious but casual and welcoming inn. We arrived in a record-breaking rainstorm and were grateful for the cozy library, the lovely room and view, and the common area with easy access to tea and coffee. All the comforts of home. The breakfast was delicious – don’t miss the warm blueberry sauce on Greg’s special pancakes. Their location on the inlet is perfect for kayaking, which we plan to do next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

One really can't ask for more in a weekend - or longer- getaway. Greg and Lori are incredibly gracious hosts and very accommodating. They've created a wonderful place to relax and recharge. If you are into the gentler watersports (kayaking, canoeing, paddle-boarding, etc.) birdwatching, or just enjoying nature, this place is spectacular. We love it and can't wait 'til we can go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach. VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I chose The Inn At Tabbs Creek because I was looking for a beautiful serene setting where my partner and I could relax, unwind and be totally at peace as we celebrated his 49th birthday.

This was the answer! Greg and Lori were so warm and wonderful. The breakfasts were out of this world and we had an exquisite time soaking in the beautiful surroundings. The room was everything we hoped for and more. We had a romantic extended weekend that we'll always remember. We will definately visit again! Thanks Greg and Lori for creating such a beautiful retreat!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.