We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation At Its Finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B to your Saves list
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Relaxation At Its Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is the perfect place to come and kick back for a few days and enjoy the quieter side of life. Great owners, breakfast, grounds, pool, water sports, fishing, etc. Cannot wait to return soon to this slice of paradise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
217
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at The Inn at Tabbs Creek. Greg and Lori were so welcoming and made our stay absolutely perfect! The room was in the main house on the second floor with a nice view of the grounds and pool. The bed was incredibly comfortable with a feather duvet and soft sheets. Breakfast was a gourmet feast with at least three hot entrees, fresh fruit, great coffee and a couple of juices.

The property is beautiful and they have bikes, kayaks, standing paddle boards to help you enjoy it. I look forward to staying here again the next time we are in Virginia.

Room Tip: I would recommend any of the rooms in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My wife and I needed a few days together to unwind and The Inn was just right spot. Plenty to do or not do--read, bike, kayak, bocce, swim, eat! Lori and Greg are fantastic hosts and the three breakfasts were out of this world. We met some very nice people while we were there as well. Tabb's Creek is on our list of places to go back to for sure.

Room Tip: The in-room fridge was great for keeping snacks and drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

From the entrance down the country lane to the beautiful sunsets this place was perfect stress relief. Lori, Greg and Dave were fantastic hosts. We felt free to enjoy ourselves, biking, swimming, games, fishing , time by the fire or just relaxing and taking it all in. The inn is close enough to attractions if exploring is what you like to do, but remote enough to enjoy quiet time at an almost private beach nearby. Our hosts and the folks we met in town were very welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had a good time and offer suggestions. Greg even shared some of his delicious recipes. Highly recommended for a great get-away.

Room Tip: The Chesapeake Suite was awesome. Lots of room to move around and separate from the main house
See more room tips
Green Features: The pool was very clean and inviting and chlorine free.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just spent the weekend there and had a great time. The Inn's owners Greg and Lori could not have been more gracious and they have thoughtfully outfitted the inn with most anything one would need to relax and enjoy the property....kayaks, canoes, bocce, bicycles, a fire-pit ( s'more supplies on hand), and a refreshing pool.

A local oyster man keeps one of his boats - a deadrise - at the dock and provides tours of the surrounding waters and fishing charters as well. We enjoyed an evening cruise with other guests an were taught the basics of oyster shucking while on board.

The area has a number of fun things to do. There are a number of back roads in the area which provided a great venue for biking. We took a 10 mile round trip to the Bethel Beach Nature Preserve, which is worth a visit.

Mathews Courthouse has a quaint "Main Street" feel to it with a bakery, antique/art shops and a number of restaurants. The White Dog is a bit pricey, but has a sophisticated offering not often found in this region.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed for two nights for our 20th anniversary. Beautiful property on Tabbs Creek. Did a kayak trip and relaxed by the pool. Fire pit with smores. Chesapeake suite was very nice - huge comfortable bed with the softest linens. Breakfast was amazing. Greg and Lori put out a great spread of eggs, pancakes, french toast, berries, fruit, potatoes, sausage - much of the fruit and vegetables grown on the property. Very impressed with the chlorine free pool and that the inn is "green". Beautiful place!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We just completed a four day stay at the Inn at Tabbs Creek and we couldn't have been more pleased. It is a picturesque property right on the water with sunsets that you only see in travel magazines. Lori and Greg are exceptional hosts who can't seem to do enough for you. If you are looking for a place to turn your motor off and just listen to the birds, this is the place for you. The small town of Mathews is only 3 miles up the road and it has an interesting collection of shops and restaurants. The screened in porch off the main house allows you to enjoy the evenings and escape the mosquitos.

Room Tip: Ask for the Captain's Room in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.