We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B to your Saves list
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Potomac, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Despite the terrible weather, we still had a wonderful time here! The Captains room had an amazing view and we really were able to relax and forget about our typical 9-5 lifestyle back home. It was a good getaway to forget about reality for a bit. The staff service was amazing, it w Breakfast was amazing! The rooms were comfy and relaxing. We highly recommend this for a getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank You so much for your kind review. It was so nice to meet you both, and glad you were able to get away for a few days of relaxation! Yeah, wish we could control the weather, but oh well. However, we often find that dark skies and rain just promote a feeling of rest and taking it easy, so it's all good :) Best to you both, and hope to see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
217
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were looking for a comfortable B&B that fits who we are, and Tabbs Creek was perfect: just an hour from Richmond, great food that accommodated our dietary limitations and leaned on local/seasonal offerings, relaxed innkeepers who were fun to talk to and shared their great movie library, and a truly comfortable room (no doilies!) with space for yoga, watching movies, eating, and reading where we could relax for a few days. We're looking forward to going back when the weather is better to explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review! We are glad you appreciated our small but eclectic DVD library, and the fact that we buried all of our doilies at sea when we purchased and remodeled the Inn in 2008 :) We enjoyed visiting with you as well and hope to see you both again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went for a last minute getaway weekend and had a great time. Greg and Lori cooked us wonderful breakfast, and we enjoyed meeting other guests during breakfast and at Sat night's wine and cheese "happy hour". In the winter, it's nice to sit and read by the fire, or in our room - the Captain's room, which overlooks the water. Peaceful and relaxing. We can't wait to come back in the warmer months to check out the kayaking, biking, and the fire pit by the water. We also enjoyed the "Open Studio" the weekend we were there, we bought several pottery from local artists and enjoyed learning about their art.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank You for your kind review of our property. We enjoyed your company, and especially your great guitar playing and music! So glad that you and your lovely wife enjoyed your anniversary. Congratulations again, and Cheers to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at The Inn at Tabb's Creek for our wedding anniversary. We were looking for a picturesque environment to relax and enjoy some down time together. The Inn at Tabb's Creek was beyond all our expectations on every level. The water views and sunsets we spectacular. The food was fantastic and Lori, Greg and David were the most gracious hosts. We felt totally at home there. We also really enjoyed getting to know some of the other guests during the pre-dinner wine and cheese gathering. I highly recommend the Inn for anyone looking for a beautiful, relaxing and friendly B and B experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for your kind words about us and our B&B. We really enjoyed spending time with you both, and especially appreciated your talented guitar playing around the fire pit. Glad you and your lovely wife had a great anniversary, and look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the warmer months. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The view and the ambiance are wonderful. Summer has great biking and kayaking. Winter has hiking and relaxation. I have never been to a B&B where the owners sat and talked with you for the entire meal. Quite nice! This is a very green inn where the raise many of their breakfast ingredients and work hard to protect the environment AMAP.

Room Tip: you can't beat the Captain's room for a view out 6 windows to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We really appreciate your review, and thanks for your nice comments. We do enjoy getting to know guests over breakfast, and have shared many laughs and great stories around that table! We do understand that not everyone is into the communal dining experience, however, so we happily offer alternate breakfast times or private tables as well. We also appreciate your interest in our green re-model and oyster gardening as we love to share what we have learned and are continuing to learn.Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time staying at the inn through our living social deal. We wanted a relaxing get-away and The Inn at Tabb's creek exceeded our expectations. Greg, Lori, and Dave were great hosts, and cooked us the most wonderful breakfasts. We spent lots of time reading by the fire, watching movies, and watching the meteor shower out by the fire-pit. Everything was clean, cozy, and incredibly relaxing. I'd recommend the trip for anyone, even if its during the middle of winer in the middle of the week.

Room Tip: The captain's room was wonderful, great view of the water and the tempurpedic bed made a huge di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
So glad that you both had a wonderful time, and thanks for your kind review. We do love the stars and meteor showers here at night...just one of the many benefits of being located in the middle of NOwhere yet somewhere special with our small town and many unique shops and restaurants. Cheers to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Inn. The highlight for us was the daily breakfast. Oh how our mouths would water at the sight and smell each day.

We loved the hosts and would highly recommend this place to anyone who just want to get away from all the hustle of every day living.
We are hoping to revisit soon.

Sincerely,
Bruce and Karen

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabbsCreek, Owner at The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thanks for your review, and it is always nice to hear that our guests appreciate our breakfasts as we work hard to either grow as much ingredients as we can, or source them from local farms and vendors. It was nice to meet you both, and hope to see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.