We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Take Over"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B to your Saves list
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Stanardsville, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"The Take Over"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I, along with 10 friends rented the entire Inn for three nights and four days and everyone enjoyed themselves immensely. The surrounding grounds are beautiful and the location is perfect. The owners are very nice and accommodating with plenty of activities offered if one cares to partake.
Our breakfast meals were absolutely first rate.
When we left it seemed as if we were leaving the family Home-place.
Congratulations to a very nice young couple on establishing a beautiful Bed and Breakfast.
I highly recommend the Inn at Tabbs Creek.

WLS

Room Tip: Any room will be to your liking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
217
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were looking for a place close enough to the Williamsburg area, but not your run of the mill hotel--the Inn fit our budget, and exceeded our expectations. The hospitality was above and beyond what we expected. The room was clean, cozy, and very comfortable. The grounds were a wonderful place to wander, or to just experience the outdoors--the sunsets from the dock were amazing. And breakfast--my husband and I were so impressed by our breakfasts, and we did not walk away hungry! I would recommend the Inn to anyone who wants a unique, out of the way, fantastic experience. It is close enough to the Williamsburg area to make that sort of vacation do-able, and yet, we wished we could have simply stayed at the Inn to soak in the beauty of the area. The Inn is perfect for just a break away from the hustle and bustle. The Inn is perfect for something a little romantic. And the Inn is perfect for the more active person. Bottom line: top notch service, top notch food, top notch people! We will most definitely be coming back when we can!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Could not have been more impressed with this B&B. From the moment you arrive you feel like you're at home. Secluded from the normal goings on of everyday life, this hidden treasure affords you the opportunity to do as much or as little you want. Charming little shops and non-franchised restaurants are definitley a must visit while staying here. We had a blast fishing off the dock and enjoying the marine life while the sun was up. The evening social of wine and cheese was a great ice breaker to mingle with the other guests. Once the sun went down the fire pit provided a relaxing way to view the night sky littered stars. The food was incredible and definitely not your run-of-the-mill food. Not only would I recommend this to anyone thinking of staying at a bed and breakfast, I can see us going back again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place transports you. We came here for three nights to celebrate an anniversary. We also came for nostalgia, as my grandparents had retired nearby, and the visit rekindled many happy memories of visiting them. I hadn't been back in 32 years until this past weekend.

Mathews is at once out-of-the-way yet reasonably accessible from North Carolina, DC, Richmond, and points further. I'm not sure of any other place like it.

The room -- spotless and comfortable (Chesapeake Suite). The breakfasts -- gourmet and plentiful. Surrounded by water on three sides, the setting calms. We spent more time than we expected to watching the birds and jumping fish from chairs on the dock. A ride on the Inn's kayaks provided more nature views.

With plenty of space, you can choose how and when you interact with other guests. Saturday wine and cheese time is great for that, as is the fire pit. The place has an eclectic mix of guests. And Greg and Lori the innkeepers skillfully draw out their connections.

They also did a super job of helping me locate places I used to go and other bits of Mathews' past connected to them.

The dining options have expanded since my grandparents' time here, which is a good thing. Nearby Southwinds, in particular, is worth at least one meal. (We suggest one meal for pizza and another one for an entree). My wife and I have stayed in several bed and breakfasts and other similar lodging experiences, and this is the best all-around. We shall return.

Room Tip: No bad rooms. Rooms in the main house may have better water views. Some have separate sitting areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We traveled with five other friends. We had a great time at the Inn at Tabbs Creek. The hospitality provided by Lori and Greg was wonderful. The breakfast was superb. We also enjoyed the company of the other guess that were spending the weekend. There was plenty to do if you wanted to do something; swimming, fishing off the dock, canoeing, kayaking, biking, etc. You could also quietly relax in the screened-in porch or lay in the sun by the pool. The accommodations were very clean. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a few very relaxing days at the wonderful Inn at Tabbs Creek. We were on holiday from the UK and heard about the Inn from some friends. The room was wonderful (Chesapeake Suite) and the breakfasts are to die for! All of this along with a warm welcome from the owners contributed to a great stay. We read our books at the end of the jetty and enjoyed the peace and quiet as well as exploring the local area.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and the couple we traveled with were just blown away! The hospitality was great and the atmosphere, just right. We couldn't have had a better time. This was our 1st experience with a b & b and we are glad we picked this gem! We are looking forward to returning soon!! Thank you, Lori and Greg, for a wonderful retreat! La Tanya

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.