We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Bed and Breakfast!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Haywood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B
Save
You added The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B to your Saves list
384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Port Haywood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
fairfax
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The perfect Bed and Breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The Inn at Tabbs Creek is a charming and relaxing place! We spend a wonderful weekend enjoying the Inn and the local area. Our room was very comfortable, private and spotlessly clean. You'd be hard pressed to find a nicer location, right on the water, with incredible views, especially at sunset- absolutely breathtaking. Gourmet breakfasts prepared with farm fresh products...cant' say enough about the wonderful food and hospitality of the hosts. The inn keepers are gracious and friendly but give their guests lots of space. They helped with all kinds of great information for the local area which we really enjoyed. I'd highly recommend the Inn at Tabbs Creek if you are looking for a relaxed time at a beautiful location with friendly hosts!! I know we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
225
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is our fourth stay at the Inn at Tabb's Creek in two years. We were among Greg and Lori's first guests and had sush a wonderful time that we came back and filled the Inn with a bunch f friends for a bicycling weekend. Each visit has been better than the last. Gerg and Lori are gracious hosts whose enthusiasm and wonderful, warm personalities make you feel very special yet very much at home. In spite of less than ideal weather - a little cool on Friday and Saturday and rain/snow on Sunday - all of the guests had a wonderfuls time. In spite of it being a very diverse group, the Saturday night wine and cheese get together was such a success that it was difficult to leave for dinner. The rooms are extremely comfortable, clean, well decorated and well appointed. The setting on the creek is spectacular and while we were there Greg unliaded four new kayaks that are available for rent. Wew ill be back in May for the annual Tour de Chesapeake bicycle event. That will make five stayes in two years.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed in the Chesapeake Suite. It was very tastefull decorated, big jacuzzi tub, king size bed, beautiful tile in the shower. The innkeepers are very accomdating. No TV's, which I liked. They do have a portable DVD player in every room with a library of movies to choose from. Quiet and peaceful. Waterfront views are very pretty. Breakfast was delicious. Would also highly recommend the White Dog Inn for dinner in nearby Mathews.
Perfect for a couple just wanting to get away for the weekend. You'll love it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

Once again, a great stay at Tabb's Creek. Greg and Lori have to be the most hospitable and excellent innkeepers ever! I stayed in January this time and it was perfect. Winter is actually a very good time to go there. It's peaceful and beautiful, but not too cold. The rooms are so cozy and the beds to die for. I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

I HIGHLY recommend the Inn at Tabb's Creek to anyone and everyone. The atmosphere is absolutely wonderful. Innkeepers Greg and Lori have truly perfected the art of hosting. They're available whenever you need them yet they're not overwhelming or overpowering like some B&B hosts I've come across. They've got it just right.

The grounds are absolutely gorgeous. The wildlife in the area is fabulous, the food is DELICIOUS and the rooms are everything you need them to be.

There are tons of outdoor activities available in the area but this place is divine for water sports....particularly kayaking, canoeing, boating and our favorite...stand up paddle-boarding.

Greg and Lori are Stand Up Paddle enthusiasts as well and have two boards that they can rent out to guests.

Everything about this place is welcoming and relaxing.

We've stayed here two times now, once in late spring and once this winter. Both visits were amazing.

We've found paradise right here in Virginia.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We would recommend The Inn at Tabbs Creek to anyone looking for a particularly relaxing weekend, especially at this time of year. My husband and I were seeking a bed and breakfast that could offer a cosy place to sit by the fire and at the same time, a feeling of luxury. We found both at the Inn! After a cold day exploring Mathews County, it was lovely to warm up in the library by the fire and our suite, had everything we needed; spacious shower, comfortable bed and delicious breakfasts. We really enjoyed that we could have our own privacy but at the same time, feel welcome to join other guests in the Main House. Spending time with Lori and Greg was fun and we're both excited to join them in the Summer, when we'd like to try paddle boarding.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Inn At Tabbs Creek a few days ago - we loved the peacefulness, not to mention the attention to detail we were shown by Greg, Lori and David. They were the best! I really appreciated how they made our stay one we will not soon forget. This was our first time staying at a B&B and it was just perfect. Loved and enjoyed every minute of it. The chef was wonderful who prepared a fresh, tasty and abundant breakfast. The Captains room was fantastic and we enjoyed watching the birds outside of our window. The Inn keepers showed us a fantastic winter walk near a nature preserve where we saw two Bald Eagles gliding in the air above. What a joy it was to return back to the Inn with a gourmet selection of hot tea which warmed us up and prepared us for another great nights sleep. What a way to spend some of the Holidays. Thanks again and we will surely return in the Spring!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B

Address: 384 Turpin Lane, Port Haywood, VA 23138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Port Haywood
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Port Haywood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our waterfront retreat is located on a secluded creek of the Chesapeake Bay in charming Mathews County, Va. With over 800 ft. of waterfront and 8 acres of wooded and open space, this Virginia Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to get away from it all and totally relax. The main Inn is an 1880's newly renovated farmhouse with a separate cottage housing the luxury suites just across the garden and pool. An eco-friendly and certified Virginia Green lodging establishment, The Inn at Tabbs Creek is just the place if you appreciate the natural splendor of the outdoors and want the luxury and comfort of a casual B&B. Embark on a kayak or stand up paddleboard adventure, spend the day cycling the endless level Mathews country roads, or charter a sunset cruise with fresh oysters or fishing charter that leaves straight from our private dock. You can also just relax and recharge your romance with a picnic on a nearby beach, stargazing around the firepit, and watching the sunset in our chlorine free pool with a glass of Virginia Wine. *Winner of 2012 "Green Facility of the Year" from Virginia Tourism Corporation and TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" and "Green Leader" award, we were also voted "Most Welcoming Bed and Breakfast" in Eastern Virginia by Virginia Living Magazine this year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Tabbs Creek Hotel Port Haywood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Tabbs Creek Waterfront B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.