We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Dancing Pilgrimage” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Lake Lodge
115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pembroke
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Dirty Dancing Pilgrimage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

My sister and I stopped for one night on a 2 week road trip. The only reason - other than being in a convenient place to stop for the night - was that this hotel is where Dirty Dancing was filmed.
The hotel itself is dated in places. Our room did not have a TV - which I was aware of when I booked - and the bathroom was old but very clean. Dinner and breakfast were included in our rate of $270 for the night.
The service we received was top-notch. It was raining when we arrived and the manager on duty took our bags and then followed me with the car to the parking lot, so he could drive me back to the door so that I did not have to get wet. Very impressive.
He sought us out at various points in the night, helping us find things around the hotel and telling us stories.
The front desk staff, dining room staff and bar staff were all equally friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed the Activities Barn although it was HOT on the top level, as well as wandering the property the next morning. We had a ball - but if you weren't there with children or there to carry a watermelon or take Baby out of the corner, it may not be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    37
    21
    13
See reviews for
57
72
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

While a graduate student at Virginia Tech I periodicially visited Mountain Lake for Sunday brunch or hiking, but never had the "opportunity" to stay at Mountain Lake. My husband and I decided to take a mini-vacation to the New River Valley and wanted to stay at Mountain Lake. Our 2 bedroom cabin cost $281 a night plus tax. This price included dinner and breakfast for us and our 4 year old child. Here is the rundown of our disappointing stay:
1. The front desk staff would help you, once they finished their conversations.
2. The service in the dining room was good, but the dinner food was not worth anywhere near the price the charged. Breakfast on a non-Sunday morning brunch was very good. (I am sitting in the lobby waiting for Sunday brunch to start, so I am not sure about the level of quality of the brunch).
3. Our cabin was not RUSTIC as they stated....it was dated. The furniture, linens, flooring, etc. has not been changed since the 80's. The bedspreads were stained and the bathrooms were just embarrassing. Essentially the cabin reminded me of what I would expect at a state park, not at a $281 a nigh resort. Oh and FYI, there is not air conditioning at Mountain Lake, wasn't a problem for us when we came, but could be an issue in August.
4. The grounds look great, but the name Mountain Lake can be a little mis-leading. The lake is all but gone. Also, there were bugs EVERYWHERE all the time so it was near impossible to enjoy the outdoor activities.
5. The night activities were non-existent. Most of the outdoor activities stop at 6:00 leaving the activities barn and whatever they schedule to do. The first night it was suppose to be karaoke, but the person didn't show (that was not the hotel's fault). The second night was a movie showing of a 10 year old movie and nothing else.
6. In the end I felt like I wasted the $300 premium I paid over a different hotel that we could have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pembroke hotels

virginia beach va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed in the Lake Cottage which lost something because the lake is almost dry. You can see it in the distance much reduced from what it was when they filmed "Dirty Dancing" there 20 years ago. We loved the cottage and we loved the trails, and the view of the hotel, it really is "scenic!" But, you have to eat at the hotel, its a heck of a drive down the mountain to get anything else, and the food was less than average on the whole.
One evening we did Oktoberfest and it was very expensive and the food was poor. Overall cleanliness of our room was sub-standard and the bed was terrible.
I would recommend only a one night stay just to see if it might fit you. If the lake comes back it could be a great spot, GREAT! But, without a lake it is tired.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White House, TN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

My wife and I just returned from our second trip to Mountain Lake. On this years vacation we went to Lake Lure, NC for the first three days and Mtn Lake for the last four. Though Lake Lure is a beautiful area, it does not compare to the serenity of this place. Last year we stayed in the Carolina cabin, this year it was the Maybrook which is next door and has a beautiful view of the entire property off the back deck. Our stay was highlighted by a guided tour from the manager "Buzz" Scanlan. He was at the the hotel during the filming of "Dirty Dancing" in 1986. Mr Scanlan spent almost two hours with our small group talking about the history of the hotel, the lake, and the filming of the movie.

The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet each morning was excellent as were the dinner selections off the weekday menu. If you like hiking and just enjoying the tranquility of the outdoors this is the place to be. Rates are very reasonable and include breakfast and dinner. Nightly showings of family movies, karaoke on Friday, and a magic show on Saturday.

In my opinion, the Mountain Lake Hotel and Sierra Nevada Mountains are the best places on earth to be to rid yourself of the pressures of everyday life.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richburg, SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Absolutely fantastic, from the food to the staff. We had reservations for another resort Sunday this was Friday. Mtn. Lake was recommended to us from a gentleman at the visitors center in VA on I 77. We had always heard that the movie Dirty Dancing was filmed in Lake Lure NC. He insisited that it was filmed at Mt. Lake. We called because the brochure said there would be a discount for same day reservations. We arrived and saw the lake had disappered, we became concerned. All concerns disappeared when we realized that the lake is not man made. We were greeted by the front desk women who was very kind and gave us a choice of rooms and villas. We choose a room in the back. It was very nice with firewood and paper ready to light. We were directed to make our reservations for supper which is included with your room. We were blown away by our supper and breakfast the next morning, (which you don't make reservations for as in another post) Sunday morning if you skip breakfast and upgrade for Brunch its $10.00 and less for children. Which was wonderful and met several people who drove over an hr. for it. We left after a late check out for Massanutten resort in VA. We arrived at the resort spent the night and headed right back to Mtn. Lake. You can not beat the price, the staff, the tranquility of this place. Massanutten charges extra for all activities. Mtn. Lake provides you with everything from archery to board games free for your enjoyment. Massanutten 87 degees - Mtn Lake 67 degees - home over 100. Here for 2 more days and asked for the room we had last time, wasn't available so we got an upgrade to a cabin. Incrediable value. Can't wait to bring back the whole family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlothian,va
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

Excellent natural surroundings even with a mostly dry lake. We would love to go back in the fall as well. Will pray for lots of rain int he area as it would be awesome to have the lake back to its original beauty. Very good food and nice that dinner and breakfast are included in the nightly rate of the cottages. Stayed in the Sunset cottage. Next time will try one of the bigger cabins to have access to a full kitchen but this was perfect for our weekend escape! Great job by al the hotel,restaurant and recreation staff!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHAPEL HILL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

The food was extremely variable. Breakfast one morning was excellent, the next morning was absolutely terrible. The Sunday Buffet was excellent, dinner Sunday night was very bad. There appeared to be no rhyme or reason for the variability. The place seems very overpriced for the value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.