We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful mountain getaway ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Lake Lodge
115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful mountain getaway ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've had a long hard winter and wanted to get away from it all. We enjoyed a long weekend on the mountain in a cozy cabin with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Staff at the pub were awesome. The Harvest dining room had tasty hot meals! We met several other folks who were enjoying a weekend away! Was a wonderful relaxing weekend with time to socialize and time to relax. Mountain Lake is always a great escape!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    56
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
50
60
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came up to eat the Easter Brunch Buffet. The food was fabulous and the service was unbelievable. I wish the hostess and management team were as good as the service. At one point during the meal, the restaurant "manager", Glenn, got a plate of food (while there were other guests in line) and sat down to start eating. He was with a woman (which I'm assuming was his wife) but it still is very unprofessional to sit down and eat while you're working. He also came up to our table and talked to us for over a half an hour!!!! At one point my husband just asked him to leave us alone and I guess he didn't hear us because he kept on talking. After he got his plate, one of the hostess, Lee Ann, I believe was her name got a plate and went through the buffet. Here we are paying 34 dollars a person and she's getting a plate and then came up later to get a to-go box. Totally unprofessional! The last person who I have a complaint with was the receptionist, Wanda. She came through and got herself a plate as well (while there were guest in line!) All in all we love the food and service, management just has a few people who definitely don't know what they are suppose to do in the professional world and need to leave.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolwine, Virginia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our stay. We had to have the best room in the main lodge. The Tavern bar team knows how to make a very nice old fashion. The restaurant for breakfast was OK, eggs well scrambled, nice biscuits, but the gravy was lacking. We would go back but think the off-season is the time to be here when you can have a leisurely stay without all the tourists.
The total grounds are showing some wear and tear. Of course the lake is very low which it has been for 5-6 years. Go here it is worth a visit.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband surprised me with a two night getaway this past weekend, March 20-22. We stayed in room 200 a parlor suite in the main lodge. The suite was very large and beautiful with a separate seating area with a gas log fireplace and separate bedroom. I think several other reviewers are lost on the fact that this is a lodge built in the mid 1930s and it appears that management is trying to keep the lodge as a quiet retreat; therefore, not opting to provide televisions in the rooms. We found our room to be clean and spacious.

We enjoyed Stoney Creek Tavern for drinks before dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. There seemed to be a bit of confusion as to the dinner offerings in the Tavern and Harvest Dining Room. I was told that there is normally a separate menu offered in the bar but because it was a special dinner and show weekend both were serving from the same menu. There was also confusion as information for a Friday night seafood buffet had been displayed in the lobby. We realized that we would be dining from the same menu for both Friday and Saturday and were honestly a little disappointed. It was a four course menu - soup, salad and choice between three entrees, followed by a choice between two desserts. I would have thought a variation of at least the soup and salad would have been made since there were several guests staying both nights. I will say the food that we did have was delicious. Both dinners were good and our lunch on Saturday was very tasty. The breakfast buffet was standard fair but definitely fresh and delicious.

We took a walk around the Indian Trail (lake trail) on Saturday followed by a hike to the top of Bald Knob. Both were enjoyable.

It's currently their slow season and we hope to return when they are open seven days a week and hopefully the menus have additional options.

Amy and Tasha in the Harvest Dining Room were very nice. Quick with service, refills etc. Heidi the manager was attentive and seemed right on top of things and listened to a couple of concerns we had from Saturday night.

The show portion of our Saturday night was very nice and actually much more enjoyable than I had anticipated.

We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I have mixed reviews about this property after staying here last weekend. The accommodations we had in the Chestnut Lodge, adjacent to the main lodge, we're average at best. They were in my opinion very dated. The heat in our room couldn't keep up with the cold temperatures outside and unfortunately there was no firewood available for the fireplace in our room. The main areas of the lodge were nice and consistent with the age and character of the place. Overall I was slighlty disappointed with the upkeep. I would love to see this place return to what it used to be back in it's prime.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We traveled as a family to stay for a weekend. We enjoyed hiking the property and sledding on a nearby hill. It was a quiet weekend, which was exactly what we were looking for. The room was beautiful and the staff were very friendly. We enjoyed exploring some of the spots on the property where scenes from Dirty Dancing were filmed. Great family weekend! We hope to return there in the Summer.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I have been to Mt Lake resorts more than 10 times in last several years. The place is going downhill since the new management took over. The biggest blow was when they told the huge crowd puller Oktoberfest band to stop performing there. I was a big fan of that band and use to bring lots of friends over. The new management seems to be stuck up with charging more but the number of amenities have gone down. Lake, which was the biggest attraction is completed dried and hotel management refuse to fix the problem so it is a bummer that there are no water activities.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.