We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpise Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Lake Lodge
115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
South Charleston, West Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surpise Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband surprised me with a two night getaway this past weekend, March 20-22. We stayed in room 200 a parlor suite in the main lodge. The suite was very large and beautiful with a separate seating area with a gas log fireplace and separate bedroom. I think several other reviewers are lost on the fact that this is a lodge built in the mid 1930s and it appears that management is trying to keep the lodge as a quiet retreat; therefore, not opting to provide televisions in the rooms. We found our room to be clean and spacious.

We enjoyed Stoney Creek Tavern for drinks before dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. There seemed to be a bit of confusion as to the dinner offerings in the Tavern and Harvest Dining Room. I was told that there is normally a separate menu offered in the bar but because it was a special dinner and show weekend both were serving from the same menu. There was also confusion as information for a Friday night seafood buffet had been displayed in the lobby. We realized that we would be dining from the same menu for both Friday and Saturday and were honestly a little disappointed. It was a four course menu - soup, salad and choice between three entrees, followed by a choice between two desserts. I would have thought a variation of at least the soup and salad would have been made since there were several guests staying both nights. I will say the food that we did have was delicious. Both dinners were good and our lunch on Saturday was very tasty. The breakfast buffet was standard fair but definitely fresh and delicious.

We took a walk around the Indian Trail (lake trail) on Saturday followed by a hike to the top of Bald Knob. Both were enjoyable.

It's currently their slow season and we hope to return when they are open seven days a week and hopefully the menus have additional options.

Amy and Tasha in the Harvest Dining Room were very nice. Quick with service, refills etc. Heidi the manager was attentive and seemed right on top of things and listened to a couple of concerns we had from Saturday night.

The show portion of our Saturday night was very nice and actually much more enjoyable than I had anticipated.

We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    54
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
49
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I have mixed reviews about this property after staying here last weekend. The accommodations we had in the Chestnut Lodge, adjacent to the main lodge, we're average at best. They were in my opinion very dated. The heat in our room couldn't keep up with the cold temperatures outside and unfortunately there was no firewood available for the fireplace in our room. The main areas of the lodge were nice and consistent with the age and character of the place. Overall I was slighlty disappointed with the upkeep. I would love to see this place return to what it used to be back in it's prime.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

We traveled as a family to stay for a weekend. We enjoyed hiking the property and sledding on a nearby hill. It was a quiet weekend, which was exactly what we were looking for. The room was beautiful and the staff were very friendly. We enjoyed exploring some of the spots on the property where scenes from Dirty Dancing were filmed. Great family weekend! We hope to return there in the Summer.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I have been to Mt Lake resorts more than 10 times in last several years. The place is going downhill since the new management took over. The biggest blow was when they told the huge crowd puller Oktoberfest band to stop performing there. I was a big fan of that band and use to bring lots of friends over. The new management seems to be stuck up with charging more but the number of amenities have gone down. Lake, which was the biggest attraction is completed dried and hotel management refuse to fix the problem so it is a bummer that there are no water activities.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

Today my wife, nephew and myself enjoyed a very nice visit for Christmas dinner at the Mountain Lake Lodge restaurant. We are a local family and have visited Mountain Lake many times and every time I've come away with little or nothing to complain about. Todays visit was excellent, we went to the first seating today at 12:00 today. Greeted very nicely by our hostess, checked in and seated quickly (Make early reservations (weeks ahead) especially at holiday time). Our server Courtney did an excellent job taking our orders for drinks and sent us on our way to enjoy the Christmas Buffet. Early seating set us up with no lines, all food fresh from the kitchen, served warm and delicious. Prime rib, sliced pork, fresh salad, various potato and vegetable selections, fresh bread, a half dozen dessert selections makes for a wonderful meal and a full stomach. Heidi was on the floor overseeing the wait staff, visiting with diners and friends. She works hard to make this place what it is. Courtney our server was bright, cheerful and very attentive. We'll be back another time to visit.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This was the perfect place to reconnect with the family over a Thanksgiving weekend. The Lodge has a grand history but has a very comfortable feel to it. The rooms are comfortable, the grounds are beautiful (especially with a foot of snow on the ground), and the staff is very helpful. They have a talented chef, and the manager is focused on customer service. We enjoyed the entire stay!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We stayed at Mountain Lake Resort, in one of the cabins (Dorland cabin # 356) on November 13 – 15, 2014. One word to describe the cabin – AWESOME! We were expecting a somewhat plain and rustic cabin/room but we were surprised that the room was almost luxurious. We normally stay at Embassy Suites so our standard is pretty high; well this room meets that standard, especially with the vaulted ceiling, which makes the room seem even larger! They had stated on Mountain Lake Lodge’s website that the rooms had been refurbished but we never expected it to be this nice. It looks as though they completely upgraded the rooms (we also saw some rooms in the main Lodge) using an interior decorator. In addition, the cabin had two wonderfully comfortable queen-size beds, a large bathroom with Jacuzzi tub, a refrigerator and microwave, and the best part – a wonderful fireplace in which we made a roaring fire while it snowed outside – very Norman Rockwell.

We also had dinner and lunch (the next day) at the Harvester restaurant. You would think that a “Lodge” would have basic food fare however this is not the case; their menu and food is upscale and absolutely delicious! For dinner, we had the Chicken Breast, the mushroom tort, and the Buffalo Strip. They brought plenty of fresh baked bread with butter to begin the meal. In fact, the rolls were so fresh that we had to wait a few minutes while they baked them. The chicken breast was tender; the buffalo strip was actually a buffalo steak that was cooked perfectly; and the mushroom tort delicious as well. Service was very good and the waiter was very friendly and attentive. Lunch the next day included a corn chowder soup. However, when the waitress came back after telling us what the soup du jour was, she informed us that the sous chef had another soup. After expressing our disappointment, the waitress went back and checked with the chef who said that he would make the corn chowder soup just for us! Talk about making your customers happy – we were thrilled – and best of all, the soup was fresh, hot and absolutely delicious! I would agree with the one reviewer who wrote that there was a lack of firewood; we had to go scrounging around to find some but no big deal.

I can’t say enough positive things about Mountain Lake Lodge and their restaurant. If you’re looking for outdoor activities but also would like to enjoy the luxuries of a beautiful room and delicious food at a somewhat upscale restaurant, than Mountain Lake Lodge is the place to go! Thank you Mountain Lake Lodge!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.