We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit to the hotel where they filmed dirty dancing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Lake Lodge
115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pembroke
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great visit to the hotel where they filmed dirty dancing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

What a beautiful area of Virginia. The hotel is old but nicely maintained. New carpeting and bedding in all the rooms. The bathrooms need some updating, but were not an issue. The staff couldn't have been any nicer. The grounds are just beautiful and if you were a lover of Dirty Dancing the movie, you'll be very excited to see where most of the movie was filmed. The lake has dried up because of the severe draught conditions, but that shouldn't make a different. They offer many other options for actives.

Would consider coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    45
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
40
44
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Did a day visit with a friend... We were basing our trip out of Roanoke and drove up to Mountain Lake Lodge for the day. We walked the lake trail around what was the perimeter of the lake. The place must have been gorgeous with the lake. The gazebo is falling apart....its on the edge of what was the lake...now its like what's the point to sitting next to a void? There are a lot of Little streams that flow into what's left of the lake..we walked down to where the lake is now.... Wondering as I'm sure many others have wondered.... Where is all the water going? The main lodge is really neat...overall we almost stayed here...I'm glad we didn't stay..several hours on the mountain was enough. ..it just felt sad and depressing being there.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As big fans of Dirty Dancing, we opted to stay at "Kellermans" for our 18th wedding anniversary. Let me just say that we expected a little more organization for the 40 or so of us who shelled out several hundred dollars for a weekend experience. I'd say they go all out or not do it at all...a very historical hotel nestled in the mountain...however, like the Dirty Dancing experience...the lake was all dried up.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort is very relaxing, it excellent views, and the lobby area is inviting. Overall, this is a very comfy place to spend your vacation. We rented the Dirty Dancing lodge, and it was very nice. It had a large living room, three bedrooms, three bathrooms. Everything was clean. I would stay here again.
If you are a family with kids, you will be glad to know that you can safely let your older kids play on the resort grounds. They have a playground, voleyball field, tennis courts.
The restaurant is pricey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the cabins near the lodge with our family and they were wonderful. Four bedrooms each with their own bath, and very nicely furnished. The resort as a whole provided a lot of activities that kept everyone busy. We didn't sample the restaurant a lot but when we did it was a good experience.

On this site I've seen some mixed reviews on the staff and my experience was always 100% positive. From the lowest level to the highest management everyone went out of their way to be helpful, courteous and friendly. I would recommend it highly to anyone looking to get away to an unbelievably scenic resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We held ou 25 member family reunion here as there appeared to be something for everyone from ages four to seventy-five. And we were not disappointed. Although the resort needs a huge infusion of cash to bring it up to snuff, we thoroughly enjoyed our four--day visit. The outdoor activities are great, especially for children. The houses we rented are large and very adequately furnished. And coming from all corners of the country, we loved the setting. We had reason to use the services of the general manager, Hiedi, who is the most helpful, caring person ever.

Room Tip: We stayed in the houses and all rooms were large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friends and I were very excited about our girls getaway weekend to Mountain "Lake" Lodge last Sunday-Tuesday. We got a great travelzoo deal and were looking forward to exploring the lake, hiking and participating in all sorts of activities including yoga. I would like to start with the problems, because there were many and I'm hoping this will help future travelers!
The Bad:
1. The lake no longer exists. Well, it exists, but it's currently pond size. If the lake and it's associated water activities are important to you, I would not recommend staying here. The website is extremely misleading AND we were uninformed of the situation when we made reservations. UNACCEPTABLE!! Ultimately, we were able to take a kayak and canoe out on the pond because that was an activity we were really looking forward to. We ended up making the most of it and enjoyed our time on the water. It was beautiful, but also EXTREMELY muddy. I'm assuming that if the lake continues to shrink, they will not allow boats out at all.
2. If you go to Cascade Falls (and you should, it's breathtaking!), make sure you have $3 cash for parking. We were not told this by staff and were not prepared when we got there. You put the money in an envelope and place it in a drop box.
3. If you are sick of the food at the resort or don't want to spend your money on expensive dining, you do not need to go 30 min to Blacksburg, like the staff told us. There is a great little place near the entrance to Cascade Falls inside Tangent Outfitters called Cascade cafe- very good sandwiches, soups, salads, pizza, breakfast, and ice cream. Very reasonable prices! NOTE: Take Doe Creek Road (route 613), not Mountain Lake Rd (route 700) down to get to this cafe, Cascade Falls and other restaurants in Pembroke. 700 takes you out of your way. We were NOT informed of this by staff. Big surprise.
4. Overall, the staff was friendly, but highly uninformed about many things, including the resort activities. Many responses to our questions included, "I'm not sure" or "Maybe". Things were very disorganized. The most frustrating thing was that the schedule of activities was not ready until the day of. This made it quite difficult to plan our day. Also, we all had been interested in taking yoga during our 3-day stay, but apparently the yoga instructor was not there the entire week. I should note that we finally met two or three staff members at Mountain Outfitters who did their best to help us and answer our questions.
5. Food options are limited. a. Harvest is expensive. Not in our budget. b. Stony Creek Tavern is more reasonable with a limited menu, but doesn't open until late afternoon. c. Pool snack bar. Very limited and not open Mon-Tues, both days we were there. Glad we found Cascade Cafe down the mountain!
6. We had a $100 credit towards outdoor activities. But again, our options we're limited. Unless we were misinformed by staff, it seemed the only activities that cost anything were the bikes, the tree top adventure and archery.

The Good:
Despite the large amount of negatives, we made our vacation work. We enjoyed our time because:
1. The property and surrounding areas were beautiful, despite the poor, shrinking lake.
2. The trail views were amazing (we climbed to Bald Knob... Breathtaking)
3. The mountain air was clean and refreshing.
4. The weather was gorgeous. I was pleasantly surprised by the 75-80 temps.
5. Our hotel room was surprisingly very nice. Great, comfortable beds.
6. Our dinner at Stony Creek Tavern was good and the waitress was great.

Hiking Cascade Falls, hiking Bald Knob, playing badminton, participating in the Tree Top adventure, getting pool time, kayaking/canoeing on the pond, and sitting around a fire on our last evening were all great activities.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.