We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Lake Lodge
115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Winfield, IL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“peaceful vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The resort is very relaxing, it excellent views, and the lobby area is inviting. Overall, this is a very comfy place to spend your vacation. We rented the Dirty Dancing lodge, and it was very nice. It had a large living room, three bedrooms, three bathrooms. Everything was clean. I would stay here again.
If you are a family with kids, you will be glad to know that you can safely let your older kids play on the resort grounds. They have a playground, voleyball field, tennis courts.
The restaurant is pricey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    57
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
52
60
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins near the lodge with our family and they were wonderful. Four bedrooms each with their own bath, and very nicely furnished. The resort as a whole provided a lot of activities that kept everyone busy. We didn't sample the restaurant a lot but when we did it was a good experience.

On this site I've seen some mixed reviews on the staff and my experience was always 100% positive. From the lowest level to the highest management everyone went out of their way to be helpful, courteous and friendly. I would recommend it highly to anyone looking to get away to an unbelievably scenic resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We held ou 25 member family reunion here as there appeared to be something for everyone from ages four to seventy-five. And we were not disappointed. Although the resort needs a huge infusion of cash to bring it up to snuff, we thoroughly enjoyed our four--day visit. The outdoor activities are great, especially for children. The houses we rented are large and very adequately furnished. And coming from all corners of the country, we loved the setting. We had reason to use the services of the general manager, Hiedi, who is the most helpful, caring person ever.

Room Tip: We stayed in the houses and all rooms were large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My friends and I were very excited about our girls getaway weekend to Mountain "Lake" Lodge last Sunday-Tuesday. We got a great travelzoo deal and were looking forward to exploring the lake, hiking and participating in all sorts of activities including yoga. I would like to start with the problems, because there were many and I'm hoping this will help future travelers!
The Bad:
1. The lake no longer exists. Well, it exists, but it's currently pond size. If the lake and it's associated water activities are important to you, I would not recommend staying here. The website is extremely misleading AND we were uninformed of the situation when we made reservations. UNACCEPTABLE!! Ultimately, we were able to take a kayak and canoe out on the pond because that was an activity we were really looking forward to. We ended up making the most of it and enjoyed our time on the water. It was beautiful, but also EXTREMELY muddy. I'm assuming that if the lake continues to shrink, they will not allow boats out at all.
2. If you go to Cascade Falls (and you should, it's breathtaking!), make sure you have $3 cash for parking. We were not told this by staff and were not prepared when we got there. You put the money in an envelope and place it in a drop box.
3. If you are sick of the food at the resort or don't want to spend your money on expensive dining, you do not need to go 30 min to Blacksburg, like the staff told us. There is a great little place near the entrance to Cascade Falls inside Tangent Outfitters called Cascade cafe- very good sandwiches, soups, salads, pizza, breakfast, and ice cream. Very reasonable prices! NOTE: Take Doe Creek Road (route 613), not Mountain Lake Rd (route 700) down to get to this cafe, Cascade Falls and other restaurants in Pembroke. 700 takes you out of your way. We were NOT informed of this by staff. Big surprise.
4. Overall, the staff was friendly, but highly uninformed about many things, including the resort activities. Many responses to our questions included, "I'm not sure" or "Maybe". Things were very disorganized. The most frustrating thing was that the schedule of activities was not ready until the day of. This made it quite difficult to plan our day. Also, we all had been interested in taking yoga during our 3-day stay, but apparently the yoga instructor was not there the entire week. I should note that we finally met two or three staff members at Mountain Outfitters who did their best to help us and answer our questions.
5. Food options are limited. a. Harvest is expensive. Not in our budget. b. Stony Creek Tavern is more reasonable with a limited menu, but doesn't open until late afternoon. c. Pool snack bar. Very limited and not open Mon-Tues, both days we were there. Glad we found Cascade Cafe down the mountain!
6. We had a $100 credit towards outdoor activities. But again, our options we're limited. Unless we were misinformed by staff, it seemed the only activities that cost anything were the bikes, the tree top adventure and archery.

The Good:
Despite the large amount of negatives, we made our vacation work. We enjoyed our time because:
1. The property and surrounding areas were beautiful, despite the poor, shrinking lake.
2. The trail views were amazing (we climbed to Bald Knob... Breathtaking)
3. The mountain air was clean and refreshing.
4. The weather was gorgeous. I was pleasantly surprised by the 75-80 temps.
5. Our hotel room was surprisingly very nice. Great, comfortable beds.
6. Our dinner at Stony Creek Tavern was good and the waitress was great.

Hiking Cascade Falls, hiking Bald Knob, playing badminton, participating in the Tree Top adventure, getting pool time, kayaking/canoeing on the pond, and sitting around a fire on our last evening were all great activities.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Met another couple and spent the weekend hiking, doing the Ropes Course, and eating. No this isn't a luxury resort but it's a great place to hang out, especially with other active people. If you aren't into doing outdoorsy things then this probably isn't the place for you though the main lodge had a nice area to hang out and read in the enclosed porch. After doing the Ropes/Zip line course we were ready for a cold beer and something to eat. The prices were great and the food was really good. We got there shortly before they closed the door for the breakfast buffet and it was still filled with food. Had dinner in the lodge on Saturday night and it was also very good, brought a special wine with us and they corked it for us and served. Nothing but good things to say about the lodge, the staff and the services.

Room Tip: not sure if there is a bad room, we were on the second floor which we enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

If you are looking for relaxing and quiet, this is the place. The main lodge is beautiful. We stayed in one of the cottages "down the hill" from the main lodge. It definitely wasn't anything fancy and very aged. You could tell the floors were old and it looked outdated, but honestly, we weren't there much and it sufficed for a place to sleep and shower each night. The area itself was beautiful - the lake, the hiking, the activities were fantastic! It was the same place where Dirty Dancing was filmed - so that was fun seeing all those pictures & markers.

But, when you go, because you are at the tip top of the mountain, it is a good 20 minute drive to the nearest groceries, restaurants and gas. Take groceries, beer and anything else with you. It will save significant time through your time here.

Great place to stay and very relaxing.

Room Tip: I think it would be most convenient to stay in the main lodge, but the rooms were rather packed, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I visited Mountain Lake Lodge this weekend and just returned from my trip. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this resort! It is unlike any other place I have been... Some of the reviews here are from folks who don't "get it" I'm afraid. This place is for the outdoor person and nature lovers... The trails, the staff, the birds, the views... It's just an amazing place. The lake is subject to nature, but the management is working on some solutions... But the lake is not what this place is all about. I'm going back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.