We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Our Type of Place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mountain Lake Lodge
115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pembroke
Virginia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not Our Type of Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Lodge for an event being held here. That's probably the only reason we would go to a mountain lodge. Our room was small (more European sized than American) but the expectation is that you get out of your room. There is no room TV, but one can be found in the bar. There are also no elevators, not even the tiny European style, so those who need help are shuttled around in golf carts when they request it.
The lodge itself has a certain charm with the thick stone walls and more rustic decor. Activities seem to be all outdoor related, i.e. hiking trails, lake, bocce ball court, tennis court, pool, and outdoor chess board. The biggest claim to fame is that "Dirty Dancing" was filmed here.
The dining room is really lovely with much of the seating near windows that provide beautiful views. The breakfast buffet that was served was great. The white gravy was a little short on pepper, but I added more spice at the table. Otherwise I had to restrain myself from returning for a second helping.
Currently, the lodge is minus a full lake. Repairs to the earthen dam were required and now it's just a waiting game to get the lake back. The views will be much better when it refills.
All in all, it's a lovely venue for special events. Other than that, I think it's too lacking in standard American expectations to be on my list of places I'd recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Director of Sales at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
VEC24,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. It is always helpful to hear our guests' visit through their eyes. Yes, a few of our rooms in the Main Lodge do have a European feel with regard to the size. I will let our reservations staff know that they need to to better communicate the size and amenities of the different lodging options.

Yes, you are correct about our lake not being full as of yet. In 2005, our natural, spring-fed lake started to drain. For the past several years, the lake has been on the decline. At the beginning of this year, a team of geologists were able to "plug" the sinkholes and the lake has been filling naturally since the end of March. The research tells us that by next summer we will have at least 2/3 of our lake back! We are planning on being able to offer all of our water activities next summer (canoeing, kayaking, fishing etc).

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with our staff.

Kind Regards,

Heidi Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    37
    21
    14
See reviews for
58
72
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

What a wonderful treat Mountain Lake Lodge is! They underwent a recent renovation of the rooms and restaurant, and the quality really shows. We stayed in a suite in the main lodge (room 200) and were quite surprised at how big it was. The bedroom and living room were each at least 12' x 20'. Tastefully decorated, very comfortable, and compete with ceiling fans, gas fireplace, and windows that bring in the mountain air. Our meals at Harvest (the restaurant) were first-rate, and fairly priced. I hear the chef came fom the Hay-Adams hotel in DC. The wine and beer prices were not jacked way up, like some resorts do.

Although the lake is low, it's been fixed and hopefully will fill soon. Even so, there is plenty to do and see. We hiked on trails around the property, and might get the courage to do the ropes course next time!

I heartily recommend this place. The effort the owners are making to restore this place really shows in the results.

Room Tip: We stayed in suite 200 and would choose it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been going to Mountain lake for over ten years now and I have to say the new owners have changed it for the best! Not only have they renovated the lodge, but they have added great activities such as zip lines. The staff go out of their way to ensure guests enjoy their visit. I can see why in previous years before the renovation people became disenfranchised with this resort, but they are clearly changing for the better and I cannot wait to go again.

Room Tip: Lodge and cabins are great,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is our first visit to the Mountain Lake Lodge.
The place definitely has a charm about it and was very relaxing. We took advantage of just a few of the activities provided including archery lessons and a nature walk- the activity staff were very knowledgeable, helpful and energetic.
The weather was great so we could spend a lot of time outdoors and at night around a campfire.
Our room was in the main lodge which was a pleasant surprise- comfortable and very clean. No TV-it was a nice change. Food and service in the dining room was very good.
Hope to return and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Coming to the mountain has become a tradition for us......it is not only beautiful here, but romantic and serene. Now they've added activities and are really at your beck and call. We prefer to stay in the cottages and have loved Norfolk....king bed, jacuzzi tub, nice porch and even a fireplace. New pub is great...and canopy tour was awesome. We will return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was impressed with this older hotel. My room was clean and inviting. My bed was wonderful and very comfortable. The views from this place are amazing!! My husband and I will revisit this beautiful place. The grounds are clean and you can watch the sunset from the porch of the lodge. All in all I had a wonderful time. I would recommend eating somewhere else besides the restaurant though for the reason they don't have a lot to choose from. My husband and I did eat at the Harvest, but next time we will eat before going to the lodge. The food isn't horrible, but its just okay. The lodge and the view is what gets my excellent rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The folks at Mountain Lake have made some great improvements to the property over the past year. The guest rooms in the hotel have been updated, as well as the common areas. The reception lobby, Stony Creek Tavern (bar/lounge), and dining room have been beautifully redesigned. Chef Michael provides wonderful fare in the dining room, and the hotel staff are all friendly and accommodating. The overall property has received a face lift. For example, the activities building has been moved to a more expansive space, and the original activities building has been made into a small museum honoring the property's connection to the "Dirty Dancing" legacy. The gift shop and fitness center have also received necessary updates that add greatly to the hotel's value. The mountain location of the hotel is beautiful and it is not hard to relax in such a setting. The property could still use some improvements (e.g., guest rooms may have older furniture, but the bedding has been updated...), but there is a healthy balance between the charm and history of the hotel, and modern conveniences. Flat screen TVs in the lounge, and a back corner sitting room, let guests get their "fix" if they need it, but there are so many activities on property, and local attractions to keep you busy, it should be difficult to justify sitting in front of a TV. A great place to spend a week or a weekend. And definitely go for the Sunday brunch!

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator. If you have a lot of luggage, or do not want to navigate stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
25.8 mi away
Pipestem Resort State Park Lodge
Independent Hot...
Show More
10.3 mi away
The Inn at Virginia Tech & Skelton Conference Center
Free Parking, I...
Show More
11.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#5 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
10.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Blacksburg
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
10.3 mi away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#6 of 9 in Blacksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
13.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Blacksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.