We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On top of the world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Lake Lodge
115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“On top of the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Coming to the mountain has become a tradition for us......it is not only beautiful here, but romantic and serene. Now they've added activities and are really at your beck and call. We prefer to stay in the cottages and have loved Norfolk....king bed, jacuzzi tub, nice porch and even a fireplace. New pub is great...and canopy tour was awesome. We will return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    58
    33
    7
    6
See reviews for
53
60
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was impressed with this older hotel. My room was clean and inviting. My bed was wonderful and very comfortable. The views from this place are amazing!! My husband and I will revisit this beautiful place. The grounds are clean and you can watch the sunset from the porch of the lodge. All in all I had a wonderful time. I would recommend eating somewhere else besides the restaurant though for the reason they don't have a lot to choose from. My husband and I did eat at the Harvest, but next time we will eat before going to the lodge. The food isn't horrible, but its just okay. The lodge and the view is what gets my excellent rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The folks at Mountain Lake have made some great improvements to the property over the past year. The guest rooms in the hotel have been updated, as well as the common areas. The reception lobby, Stony Creek Tavern (bar/lounge), and dining room have been beautifully redesigned. Chef Michael provides wonderful fare in the dining room, and the hotel staff are all friendly and accommodating. The overall property has received a face lift. For example, the activities building has been moved to a more expansive space, and the original activities building has been made into a small museum honoring the property's connection to the "Dirty Dancing" legacy. The gift shop and fitness center have also received necessary updates that add greatly to the hotel's value. The mountain location of the hotel is beautiful and it is not hard to relax in such a setting. The property could still use some improvements (e.g., guest rooms may have older furniture, but the bedding has been updated...), but there is a healthy balance between the charm and history of the hotel, and modern conveniences. Flat screen TVs in the lounge, and a back corner sitting room, let guests get their "fix" if they need it, but there are so many activities on property, and local attractions to keep you busy, it should be difficult to justify sitting in front of a TV. A great place to spend a week or a weekend. And definitely go for the Sunday brunch!

Room Tip: The hotel does not have an elevator. If you have a lot of luggage, or do not want to navigate stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

First time trying something like this. Fun,exciting,challenging,and safe. Our guides,Chris and
Ryan were very thorough,patient and knowledgeable. We had the whole place to ourselves,
which made it even better. No rush! As we were getting ready to leave we had the pleasure to meet Chris -the manager, a very pleasant young lady. Hats off to the staff and Tree Top Adventures!! If you have the chance, check it out!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been going to Mt. Lake since 1984 and have always had a wonderful time. When we heard they were under new management and made a lot of changes (meals not included, very few games in the barn, no nightly activities, now charging for everything that used to be included in the room charge) we were hesitant about going. But we did and took the kids and grandkids with us to celebrate our 45th anniversary. We had a great time, although expensive. We did the Tree Top adventure zip line and obstacle course, played corn hole, hiked and relaxed. Was disappointed that housekeeping never brought clean sets of towels or tidied the cottage every third day as advertised, had to have maintenance in twice to fix the refrigerator and unplug the tub drains, and we had to ask for clean towels, tissue, soap, and kitchen trash bags.

Room Tip: Better service is in the main hotel, but the cottages on Blueberry Ridge are so much nicer, quiet, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White House, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our 6th trip to Mountain Lake since 2008. We were a little concerned that the new management may change things up too much. The lobby, restaurant, bar areas were either upgraded or renovated. Also, the old laundry building is now the outfitter/equipment rental for all the outdoor activities at the lodge, The "Dirty Dancing" signs that showed where scenes were shot for the movie have been removed. The old equipment rental building near the parking lot was converted into a very nice dedication to the making of "Dirty Dancing". Many photos of the actors, memorabilia, along with audio/visual displays. The Treetops Adventure course near the barn and stables was exhilarating (as in white knuckles and shaky legs) and a pleasant addition.
Overall the atmosphere is the same, which is what brings us back year after year. As I have said in previous reviews, it is the peacefulness and serenity of Mountain Lake that we love so much. While we miss some of the old familiar faces, it was nice to meet the new staff. I believe the new management has made some great changes. They do need to bring back the movie scene signs though, because there are still many people, especially first-time visitors that are big fans of the movie. This would allow them to take in the beauty of the grounds instead of one little building. We look forward to many more vacations at Mountain Lake, with or without water in the lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our group spent our annual Girls' Reunion weekend at Mountain Lake this year. We stayed in the Radford cabin. It was more than adequate-- clean, spacious and nicely furnished. The restaurant is reasonably priced with very good food. We found the portions to be generous, almost more than we could eat for dinner. Two of us did the Tree Top Adventure zip line course and had a great time. We're also glad to see the lake is coming back.

I've been to Mountain Lake many times before. It's great to see it renovated and updated. If you want air conditioning, night life and constant entertainment, this is not the place for you. If you want to spend time in a beautiful part of the planet and enjoy nature and good friends, this is a perfect choice. I'll be coming again.

Room Tip: The Blueberry Ridge Cabins are great for larger groups. I haven't seen how the Lodge rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi S, Director of Sales at Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
CarlaRoanoke_VA,

Thanks so much for letting us know how thrilled you were with the Radford Home in Blueberry Ridge, Treetop Adventures, and HARVEST! It is great to know that you and your girlfriends appreciated the many new changes at Mountain Lake Lodge! We are so pleased to hear that we will be seeing you again!

We are looking forward to it!

Warmest Regards,
Heidi Stone
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Lodge

Address: 115 Hotel Circle, Pembroke, VA 24136 (Formerly Mountain Lake Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated historic Mountain Lake Lodge features 43 Rooms in Main Stone Lodge, 16 in Chestnut Lodge, 9 Mountain Homes in Blueberry Ridge, 8 historic rustic cabins and 9 Front Lawn Cottages on 2,600 acres of preserved mountaintop property owned by the Mary Moody Northen Endowment. Mountain Lake Conservancy, a non-profit organization founded in 1989, serves to protect the land and wildlife resources on the property for future generations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Lake Pembroke
Hotel Mountain Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.